Daily Archives: April 9, 2012

*Review* Anna and the French Kiss

 Anna and the French Kiss

Stephanie Perkins

372 pages

ISBN: 9780525423270

Read 4-7-12

Source: Own

Format: Paperback

Anna is looking forward to her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a great job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more. Which is why she is less than thrilled about being shipped off to boarding school in Paris – until she meets Etienne St. Clair: perfect, Parisian (and English and American, which makes for a swoon-worthy accent), and utterly irresistible. The only problem is that he’s taken, and Anna might be, too, if anything comes of her almost-relationship back home. As winter melts into spring, will a year of romantic near – misses end with the French kiss Anna – and readers – have long awaited?  

     So what can I say about Anna and the French Kiss?  It was absolutely, brilliantly, marvelously AMAZING!!  I am so glad I lsitened to all of the bloggers who raved about this book because it is simply wonderwul.  I am definitely a fan of Stephanie Perkins now and will most likely read everything she publishes.
There are so many things that make this book great.  One thing is how realistic and relatable it is.  I’m reading this whole book thinking “Wow I have definitely been there before.”  The story is real, tbe place is real, the characters are real.  I feel like I really know these characters and I could tell you about them as if they were someone I’ve known for quite some time.  They may be fictional characters, but they have very real personalities.
Mmmm, St. Clair.  I was drooling over this boy from the first time Anna met him.  He has certainly become a new favorite book boyfriend.  He may even be #1!  Edward Cullen can suck it!  And how great was Anna?  Awesomely so.  Her freak outs, excitement, meltdowns, everything was put perfectly on the page.
The descriptions of Paris are lovely, and though I have been to France, I didn’t get the chance to see Paris.  It is a beautiful country and the author portays Paris beautifully.  I have to make sure I get to go back and visit Paris.  There have been books that have made me giggle here and there, but this book has me laughing so foten.  It was such a fun read and I look forward to her other novels.  This story will remind you of what it’s like to fall in love.

Fabulous characters, wonderful story, humorous, playful writing, MUST READ!!

1 Comment

Filed under 5 Stars, Contemporary, Fiction, Romance, Young Adult

In My Mailbox (10)

 In my mailbox is a fun weekly meme hosted by The Story Siren that lets us share our bookish finds!

This week I got a few I am excited to get my hands on!

Bought


Darkest Mercy – Melissa Marr


Abandon - Meg Cabot


Angel Burn – L.A. Weatherly


Great Tales of Horror – H.P. Lovecraft

Borrowed


Incarnate - Jodi Meadows

1 Comment

Filed under In My Mailbox, Weekly Memes