Waiting on Wednesday (53)

New Waiting Banner

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This week I am waiting on:

Love Letters to the Dead Cover Love Letters to the Dead
Ava Dellaira

Release 4-1-14

It begins as an assignment for English class: Write a letter to a dead person. Laurel chooses Kurt Cobain because her sister, May, loved him. And he died young, just like May did. Soon, Laurel has a notebook full of letters to people like Janis Joplin, Amy Winehouse, Amelia Earhart, Heath Ledger, and more; though she never gives a single one of them to her teacher. She writes about starting high school, navigating new friendships, falling in love for the first time, learning to live with her splintering family. And, finally, about the abuse she suffered while May was supposed to be looking out for her. Only then, once Laurel has written down the truth about what happened to herself, can she truly begin to accept what happened to May. And only when Laurel has begun to see her sister as the person she was; lovely and amazing and deeply flawed; can she begin to discover her own path.

Why I’m Waiting:

This just sounds so so good.  I just found it two days ago on Lucy’s blog, The Reading Date, and right away I knew I wanted to read it.  It sounds like it will be a good, emotional kind of ride and one that could sink it’s way into my heart.  I can’t wait to read all the letters that she has written to those who have passed!  I requested it on Netgalley, so I am keeping my fingers crossed that they let me have it.  What are you guys Waiting on this week?

Vyki Signature Trans 2

3 Comments

Filed under Waiting on Wednesday, Weekly Memes

3 responses to “Waiting on Wednesday (53)

  1. I do love the sound of this one…thanks for sharing! Here’s MY WOW POST

  2. Great pick, already on the mile long TBR list. This sounds like an emotional read but I love it! Thank you so much for sharing!

Leave a Reply

