*Review* Matched – Ally Condie

 

 

Matched

Ally Condie

384 pages

ISBN 9780525423645

Read April 2011

Format: Hardcover

Source: Own

Cassia has always trusted the Society to make the right choices for her: what to read, what to watch, what to believe. So when Xander’s face appears on-screen at her Matching ceremony, Cassia knows with complete certainty that he is her ideal mate… until she sees Ky Markham’s face flash for an instant before the screen fades to black.

The Society tells her it’s a glitch, a rare malfunction, and that she should focus on the happy life she’s destined to lead with Xander. But Cassia can’t stop thinking about Ky, and as they slowly fall in love, Cassia begins to doubt the Society’s infallibility and is faced with an impossible choice: between Xander and Ky, between the only life she’s known and a path that no one else has dared to follow.

I am a huge fan of young adult books, and today I am going to be reviewing Ally Condie’s Matched.  Once I got started with this book, it was so hard to put it down; I actually read most of it while I was at the airport on my way to Florida.  It was a super fast read and even after I was finished, I was starving for more.  The cover is what originally caught my eye with this book, and I thinK a girl trapped in a bubble is a great image for this story; the way this society is, I would feel trapped in a bubble, too.
Matched follows Cassia, a teen who lives in a futuristic world were the Society decides everything for its members; their jobs, where to live, even who to love.  But when Cassia opens the information card for who she is matched to, she finds not one person, but two.  No one has ever had two matches before, and it opens her eyes in a way she never would have imagined.
This dystopian novel has a young adult feel of Ray Bradbury’s Fahrenheit 451, the Society has restrictions over everybody and everything they do; even writing is banned.  I was constantly worried that Cassia was going to get into trouble with the Society because they watch nearly every move people take, so I was certainly emotionally involved in the story.
I really enjoyed the way the romance of the story unfolded because it was like a rediscovery of what love is instead of what the Society thinks it should be.  In a world full of prearranged marriages, falling in love with someone who is not your match is a forbidden love, and Cassia’s world becomes quite chaotic.
Cassia is a very likeable character; she is somewhat rebellious and risk taking and wants so much more than what Society will allow, and she had a lot of growth throughout the story.  Once she has become aware of what life can be without so many restrictions, she wants so much more.  She is very strong and willing to fight for what she wants and what she thinks is right. I don’t know what it was about the two main male characters, but for some reason I didn’t feel as strong of a connection as I did with Cassia.
There are still issues left to be resolved for this story, and I thought it ended in a way to keep you engaged and hungry for more without leaving too many open questions, and I am very excited about the next installment.  I thoroughly enjoyed Matched and I recommend it to anyone who loves fast-paced young adult novels with an air of sneakiness.

Engaging, Bradbury feel, need to break free, artful.   4 stars

Leave a comment

Filed under 4 Stars, Dystopian, Fiction, Review, Young Adult

Leave a Reply

