*Review* Liesl & Po – Lauren Oliver

Liesl & Po

Lauren Oliver

320 pages

ISBN: 9780062014511

 

     I received Liesl & Po as an ARC copy shortly after I saw a few others’ reviews on it.  I found the cover very interesting and couldn’t wait to read it.  Readers a little younger than teen are able to read this story and the voice of it is that of a rich fairytale.  The story follows Liesl, a young girl who just lost her father and has been locked away in the attic by her awful stepmother.  A pair of ghosts, Po and Bundle, appear to her and she becomes friends with them, they help her to escape the attic so she can take the ashes of her father to a resting place.  What Liesl doesn’t know is that there has been a big mix up and the road to where she needs to go will be a very rocky one.
     This tale is a bit of a grim one, it deals with death, evil people, and cruelty, but the sun does come back out and it is a very good healing story.  The characters are full of life and personality, even the little animal ghost, Bundle, has a wonderful personality.  I especially liked the ending of the book; it was very beautiful and full of hope.  The illustrations in the book provide a wonderful accompaniment to the words.
     At the very beginning, the author has a note where she says she wrote this story because of the sudden death of a friend of hers and never wrote it for the purpose of being published.  I can say I am glad it was published and that she decided to share a story with us that started off just for her healing.

Very enjoyable, quick read, hopeful ending, heart warming.  4 stars.

2 Comments

Filed under 4 Stars, Fiction, Supernatural, Young Adult

2 responses to “*Review* Liesl & Po – Lauren Oliver

  1. I really wanted to be approved for this ARC through netgalley.com but for some reason I was denied. I’ve been disappointed ever since. It sounds like a really great book. I had no idea the author wrote it because of the sudden death of a friend. I really enjoy Lauren’s poetic writing. I’m looking forward to this one’s release.

    • I gave away my copy in one of my giveaways, you should enter in them when they come up 🙂 I wish you could have enter the Liesl & Po giveaway!

Leave a Reply

