*Review* Bloodlines – Richelle Mead

 

Bloodlines

Richelle Mead

421 pages

ISBN: 9781595143174

Read 10-7-11

     Bloodlines is a spin-off series of the very popular Vampire Academy series that follows the young Alchemist Sydney Sage.  After helping the vampire Rose Hathaway, the Alchemists question her loyalties and abilities when it comes to her new assignment of keeping a new vampire princess safe and making sure people don’t find out vampires exist. 
     Secrets, secrets, secrets!  This novel is filled with a ton of secrets, but don’t expect them to be answered very quickly, some aren’t even answered until the very end.  I am someone who likes to know the answer now, so I had to be patient through this book, and there is still a mystery left by the end (there’s gonna be a sequel of course).  The whole movement of this novel is not very fast, so there isn’t much action for this story, but it’s still pretty good since it has a little more depth to it.
     I loved the characters of this book, and Adrian is definitely a favorite of mine.  Jill seemed to act a lot of times like she was older than fifteen, where as Sydney was slightly more high strung for my taste, but I liked her, too.  There were a couple of points where Sydney got on my nerves with how she dealt with a few things.
     I have never read a book with alchemists in it, so this was a new idea for me.  I found the plot interesting and a fresh take on a world with vampires and alchemists, though I wasn’t too impressed with the Alchemists in this book, to me they were kind of like glorified chemists/ vampire secret service. 
     The author has a good writing style and great descriptions.  The personalities of the characters are fantastic and easily made into real people in my mind.  I liked the book’s cover and coloring.  All in all, I didn’t think the book was super fantastic, but it wasn’t bad either.  I liked it enough to want to read the next in the series, and after reading the synopsis of the next book (The Golden Lily) I’m more excited about it than Bloodlines.

Not much action, great descriptions, wonderful characters, secretive, dramatic.      3.5 stars.

2 Comments

Filed under 3.5 Stars, Fantasy, Fiction, Supernatural, Young Adult

2 responses to “*Review* Bloodlines – Richelle Mead

  1. Adrian made the book for me and I’m glad he is getting his time in the spotlight. You’re right that the answers were very slow coming but hopefully things will pick up with the next book. Awesome review!

Leave a Reply

