Musing Mondays (1)

  Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading.  Each week we will get a fun reading related question to answer.   This week’s musing asks:

Do you listen to audiobooks?  Why or why not?

I do listen to audiobooks, and I enjoy them quite a bit, though I prefer to read my books.  But when I drive from place to place, I love having an audiobook going in the CD player because then I can still be “reading” even when I am driving.  And if I have to drive long distances, audiobooks keep me awake better than music does because I become engrossed in the book instead of listening to songs and lyrics I have heard a thousand other times on the radio.

A downside to audiobooks is having a bad reader or a reader you don’t really like.  Very seldom though have I not liked a reader.  One of my favorite audiobooks because of the reader is The Graveyard Book because Neil Gaiman performs the books himself and he does an outstanding job.

6 Comments

Filed under Musing Mondays, Weekly Memes

6 responses to “Musing Mondays (1)

  1. I think I just need to drive longer distances!
    Hey, welcome to your first Musing Monday. Hope to see you every week!

  2. I agree that they are great to listen to during long drives but I just can’t quite get used to hearing someone reading to me! More power to you though for liking audio books! Wish I did! 🙂

  3. that’s cool that an author is reading his/her own book on audio. I think I’d like that.

    Trish – My Musing Monday

  4. I agree. Having a bad reader ruins the whole thing. Personally I don’t like audio books but I see your point, it’s great when you have to drive a long distance – it keeps you awake and it’s much better than listening to the radio!

    Here’s my MM post
    Vicky @ Books, Biscuits & Tea

  5. Have you tried “Playaway” digital audio? Pocket size & it’s a book & player all in one. Very expensive but my library has a few so I take advantage.

Leave a Reply

