*Review* The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer – Michelle Hodkin


The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer

Michelle Hodkin

452 Pages

ISBN:  9781442421769

Read 10-31-11

Mara Dyer doesn’t think life can get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there.

It can.

She believes there must be more to the accident she can’t remember that killed her friends and left her mysteriously unharmed.

There is.

She doesn’t believe that after everything she’s been through, she can fall in love.

She’s wrong.

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer is a thrilling book to read.  It follows Mara as she tries to cope and live a normal life after a terrible accident that claimed three of her friends, but left her unharmed.  Life proves tough for her to cope with, though due to very strange things that keep happening to her, and she constantly questions her mental state (I would, too, if it were me).  This is really all I can say without giving things away.  There are so many twists and turns and what is going ons, that I really would not want to ruin it for anyone.
I liked Mara a lot.  She is a very sharp character, and strong considering everything she has to go through.  She takes everything as it comes, and in my opinion is quite mature, though some decisions are questionable, but I can understand why she would want to make them.  (You’ll see.)  I liked Noah mostly ok, but there were a couple things about him that bothered me, like the rumors, and the not quite rumors about him.  He was a pretty strong character as well; I just wasn’t as into his character as much as Mara.
As for the story, wow!  I loved it and was absolutely riveted the entire time.  The book is so fast-paced, I didn’t want to put it down.  I actually had to force myself to set it aside at bedtime, otherwise, I could have stayed up for hours reading it.  So many books lately have been so different from other books I have read, and this one proves no different.  This story was very unique and exciting, and I absolutely can’t wait for the next in the series.
The cover is very mysterious and it draws you in with its darker colors and awesome font.  It gives me the feeling of being lost afloat, yet somehow trapped at the same time.  Love it.  The writing style is great, too, and the author is very witty in her words.  I was very anxious through much of the book because of all the craziness that was going on, and there were even heartbreaking moments.  All in all, this was an absolutely fantastic read!

Fast-paced, twisted, complex, mysterious, captivating.

2 Comments

Filed under 4.5 Stars, Fiction, Paranormal, Young Adult

2 responses to “*Review* The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer – Michelle Hodkin

  1. Wow that sounds like a good read! I’m happy you like it, there has been sooo much buzz about this book it’s almost ridiculous! Mine is coming in the mail so I’m crazy excited to actually bend the spine! 🙂 Thanks for the review (internet is back???)

    • Yeah thankfully the net is working again!! This book was definitely fabulous and I’m glad you have it on the way. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did 🙂

Leave a Reply

