Sincerely Sunday (3)

      Sincerely Sunday is a new weekly meme that I will be hosting here at On The Shelf that will be like a micro-review or blurb of a book.  Anyone can participate, and you can leave a link to yours in the comments or, if you do not have a blog, you can just leave a comment with your Sincerely Sunday choice.  All you have to do is:

*Pick a book, any book.  It can be new, ARC, old, or one you read 10 years ago, as long as you have read it.
*Tell us the title and author.
*Tell us what made you read this book.
*Give us a short, sincere opinion on the book you chose.

My choice for this week is:

I am actually doing two choices this week since I didn’t get the chance to last week thanks to an internet downage, which also hindered me from doing my other blog things for two days! 

My first book is:

 Numbers
Rachel Ward

The cover drew me in, then when I read the synopsis, I was sold.

This book is not your average teenage-girl-with-power-meets-boy-and-everything-turns-out-super-fantastic.  This novel is gritty and raw with rough around the edges characters.  Jem can see numbers when she looks into your eyes.  These numbers are the day you die, and the numbers never lie…

My second book is:

 Wither
 Lauren Destefano

 The cover is just gorgeous!  This is one of those books I had to read based on the cover alone.

 This dystopian world is a scary place to grow up, mainly because you can only grow up to a certain point – 25 for men and only 20 for women – before you get sick then die.  It is especially scary for women because they are kidnapped and forcefully married off, having children at a young age so the population doesn’t die out.  This book is full of warm relationships and heartbreaking situations.

2 Comments

Filed under Sincerely Sunday, Weekly Memes

2 responses to “Sincerely Sunday (3)

  1. Aaron

    Wow…this is fun. Lets see… My book is one I read two years ago. It is “Tilting the Balance” by Harry Turtledove. This author is known for his alternate histories. This book is the beginning of a 4 book series. It begins during a major battle in World War 2 when suddenly, the aliens invade. A host of reptilean aliens with hyper advanced weapons force the world to unite against a common enemy, but not all humans are against the aliens. The aliens rescue those from the concentration camps. I couldnt put this book down for a second.

  2. I’ve never heard of Numbers but it sounds good! Wither is on my TBR list! 🙂

Leave a comment