Waiting on Wednesday (6)


Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This week’s pre-publication “can’t-wait-to-read” selection is:

 Fated
Alyson Noel
Release 5-22-12

So here’s the deal . . . 

Strange things have been happening to Daire Santos. Animals follow her, crows mock her, glowing people appear from nowhere. Worried that Daire’s having a breakdown, her mother sends her to stay with the grandmother she’s never met, who lives on the dusty plains of Enchantment, New Mexico. There Daire crosses paths with Dace, a gorgeous guy with unearthly blue eyes. 

Her grandmother recognizes Daire’s episodes for what they are – a call to her true destiny as a Soul Seeker, a person who can navigate between the living and the dead. Guided by her grandmother, Daire must be quick to learn how to harness her powers because Dace’s brother is an evil shape-shifter, out to steal them. 

Daire must embrace her fate as a Soul Seeker and discover if Dace is the guy she’s meant to be with . . . or if he’s allied with the enemy she’s destined to destroy.

Why I’m waiting for this one:

I love this cover and I get a very Native American feel from it.  It sounds like it has a lot of potential, and I hope it will be better than the Immortals series.  I like Immortals ok, but it’s only ok.  The cover alone has me excited for this one!

6 Comments

Filed under Waiting on Wednesday, Weekly Memes

6 responses to “Waiting on Wednesday (6)

  1. You had me at Enchantment, New Mexico. That sounds like the kind of place that is dark, mysterious, and mystical.

    Thanks for sharing.

    Here’s MY WOW POST and
    MY WEBSITE

  2. Hmm! It sounds interesting, but I’m not a huge fan of Noel, so I’m not sure if this one will make it onto my TBR. The cover is beautiful though, and I like the fact that it seems to have Native American elements to it.

    My WoW

  3. LOL Native American feel? I never thought of it that way before, but I totally do now! x) I felt the exact same way about her Immortals series (it wasn’t my cup of tea), but the cover & synopsis make me really excited for this one to come out too!!

    Awesome pick for your WOW this week! 🙂

  4. This sounds really good. I still need to read her other books also! awesome waiting on wednesday! here is mine! http://christiesbookreviews.blogspot.com/2011/12/waiting-on-wednesday-1.html

  5. The cover is really pretty (LOVING her earrings!) and it sounds really interesting (I see the author is fond of D-names.

    Awesome pick, I’ve never read anything by Noel but I’m really interested in this one.

  6. Me and Noel’s books don’t agree well, but even I have to admit that this cover combined with, yes, you nailed it, that Native American feel is enough to tempt me to try it despite my misgivings about her work.

    Have an amazing reading week!

    – Asher (from Paranormal Indulgence)

Leave a Reply

