*Review* Under the Never Sky – Veronica Rossi

Under the Never Sky

Veronica Rossi

374 pages

ISBN:  9780062072030

Read 1-30-12

Source: ARC

Format: Paperback

Exiled from her comfortable home, Aria knows her chances of surviving in the outer wasteland—called the Death Shop—are slim.  Violent energy storms can strike suddenly, and even the very air she breathes might kill her.  Then Aria meets an Outsider named Perry.  He’s wild, dangerous—a savage.  He’s also her only hope.


Because Aria alone holds the key to his redemption, Perry needs her, too.  Their unlikely alliance will determine the fate of all who live under the never sky.

The start of this novel was a bit confusing with the new lingo I had to get used to, but eventually I did after the first couple of chapters.  The concept of the Realms was very interesting and I found myself wishing I could try them out myself.  The world of this novel was not as exciting or as big as I would have hoped, and I would have liked to learn more about what led to people moving into the pods and why some did not.  The amount of people also seemed to be a bit small.  There is no way the amount of people nowadays could be scattered about the way they were in the book.  This is the first of a multi-part story, so hopefully more about it will be uncovered.
As for the characters, I really liked Perry and he was my favorite character.  He seemed to be a complex individual and I liked his abilities.  There were very interesting descriptions used when it came to his abilities and I enjoyed his explanations from his point of view.  Aria was very not an overly complex character and was a rather closed minded individual at first.  Once she opened up, I liked her eagerness and her loyalty.
There were parts of the novel that were predictable, but a couple other parts that I didn’t expect with a twist or two.  I look forward to learning more about the world of this novel and see how some of the surprises pan out in the upcoming installments.  There were some spots I would have expected to have a bit more of an emotional pull, but it lacked some for me in that aspect.
I liked the cover and the colors they used, though I think the aether trails should have been a bit wavier instead of straight since it makes them look like big spotlights towards the sky.  Aria is standing in a patch of wild looking vines, which seems appropriate since she gets tossed into a wild world she doesn’t know much about.
All in all, I enjoyed it, but I think it could have been a little more, though I will definitely be reading the next book because I have to know what happens.  This novel also has a switching perspective between Aria and Perry, but it stays in third person and doesn’t become confusing.

Lacks emotion, interesting concepts, good descriptions, wanting more explanation.

Leave a comment

Filed under 3.5 Stars, Dystopian, Fiction, Science Fiction, Young Adult

Leave a Reply

