*Review* Forbidden – Tabitha Suzuma

Forbidden

Tabitha Suzuma

454 pages

ISBN:  9781442419957

Read 2-1-12

Source: Library

Format: Hardcover

     Love knows no bounds…

     Lochan and Maya have always felt more like friends than siblings.  Together, they have stepped in for their unreliable, alcoholic mother to take care of their three younger siblings.  The stress of their lives—and the way they understand each other so completely—has brought them closer than two siblings would ordinarily be. 

     So close that they have fallen in love.

     Lochan and Maya know their relationship is wrong and cannot possibly continue.  And yet they are powerless to stop what feels so incredibly right…

     First of all, I wanted so badly to get this book finished in January, since I only had two books read for that month, but in a way, I was kind of glad that I finished it in February since I do not have to fight with myself over which book would be my favorite of the month.  I highly doubt any book I read for the rest of February will be able to top this book!
     This book was absolutely AMAZING!!!  Yes, it is a very taboo topic; incest is almost always something that will make most people pretty uncomfortable because it isn’t exactly socially acceptable, but I am open to trying many different books, even some that may have me go beyond comfort zones.  Tabitha Suzuma is a very brave writer for her novel on something so taboo and she made it beautiful.  That’s right, it was BEAUTIFUL.
     Suzuma’s writing is brilliant and elegant and full of emotions.  Her descriptions are matched by few writers whose works I have read, especially in the young adult circle.  I felt my anxiety rise as the characters’ levels went up, my heart broke for them, it sung for them, and I wanted to reach into the pages and hug them.  Her skills with putting emotion on a page are unreal!  Not only does Suzuma do a wonderful job with writing emotions, but she is great at expressing things that are difficult to put into words, such as her portrayal of a panic attack in one of the scenes.
     All of the characters were very strong and unique, and it’s hard to decide who my favorite may be.  They are just like real people; they are not the star of the school or the one who catches everybody’s attention, and there home life is just as defunct as many other people’s out there (just without the incest so much).  Maya and Lochan both have to act grown up since they are responsible for their three younger siblings due to their mother’s drunkenness and inability to be a parent.  There characters are real and powerful!
     I never wanted to put this book down, and I even had to take a break for a couple days from reading just to heal from the impact of this book.  Even though the characters of this book were brother and sister, what they had was still beautiful.  It was very confusing because you wanted to root for them and the love they had, but yet it is also something that is unnatural and also illegal, so you are pulled in different directions.
     The only negative thing I could possibly ever say about this book is the alternating point of view between Maya and Lochan.  I’d be so engrossed in the story that sometimes I would forget whose point I was reading from, but it wouldn’t have been near as wonderful if it had been from a single point of view.  It was great being able to see the story from both sides and the confusion, torture and love they both went through.
     To put it simply, this book was AWESOME and AMAZING and WONDERFUL and BEAUTIFUL.  If you can read books that may be taboo and controversial, please read this one!  There is also some sexual material in it, so it may not be recommended for teens on the lower end of the teenage spectrum.  This one is an addition to my Favorite Reads page!  It’s only February, but this could be my top book of 2012.  I will most definitely be checking out the author’s other books as well. 

Alternating POV, magnificent, immensely emotional, best book I’ve read in a long time!!

5 Comments

Filed under 5 Stars, Fiction, Romance, Young Adult

5 responses to “*Review* Forbidden – Tabitha Suzuma

  1. I agree! This is definitely one of my favorite reads too!

  2. Yes! Wonderful review of a powerful book. So glad you fell in love with it too. I’m nodding in agreement to a lot of your points about the story. Must have been hard to read this one in a public space. Such an emotional read.

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday (18) | On The Shelf

  4. Pingback: TGIF (3) | On The Shelf

Leave a Reply

