Daily Archives: March 1, 2012

*Review* The Replacement – Brenna Yovanoff

 The Replacement

Brenna Yovanoff

352 pages

ISBN: 9781595143372

Read 2-1-12

Source: Library

Format: Audiobook

     Mackie Doyle is not one of us. Though he lives in the small town of Gentry, he comes from a world of tunnels and black murky water, a world of living dead girls ruled by a little tattooed princess. He is a Replacement, left in the crib of a human baby sixteen years ago. Now, because of fatal allergies to iron, blood, and consecrated ground, Mackie is fighting to survive in the human world.

     Mackie would give anything to live among us, to practice on his bass or spend time with his crush, Tate. But when Tate’s baby sister goes missing, Mackie is drawn irrevocably into the underworld of Gentry, known as Mayhem. He must face the dark creatures of the Slag Heaps and find his rightful place, in our world, or theirs.

     Ok, so I am a month late for this review, but it is finally being done!  This book reminded me of a Neil Gaiman world because of the strangeness.  I enjoyed it, but I wasn’t overly impressed with it.  The concept of a child being taken and replaced by another child from a creepy world can be a little scary.  I’ve been trying to find a great creepy, scary type of book, unfortunately, it wasn’t creepy enough for me.  I really like the cover because it is a freaky looking cover with the sharp objects dangling above the child’s carriage and the foggy background.
I liked the characters, and my favorite was probably Mackie’s sister because she was strong and there for him so much.  You could tell she really loved her brother.  Roswell, Mackie’s best friend, was a cool person, too.  He was very loyal to Mackie even when Mackie had to leave somewhere, he never even questioned what was wrong.  I enjoyed the descriptions of the world of the Replacements.
Some things that happened in the book annoyed me though.  At some points, I wanted to scream at Mackie about things.  Why didn’t he do this, or why doesn’t he just say that?  I questioned a lot of the events in the book because I definitely would have done some of the things much differently.  I just wanted to yell at all of them.
The reader for this book was very talented and did a wonderful job with the different characters.  The story was good, but it wasn’t overly wonderful.  The book I am really looking forward to reading by this author is The Space Between.

Good characters, good descriptions, I would have changed some things.

2 Comments

Filed under 3.5 Stars, Audiobook, Fiction, Paranormal, Young Adult

Linky Giveaway Winner!!

Thanks to Random.org the winner for the linky follower giveaway for the gift card is

Congratulations to Kendra at Reader’s Edyn and thank you to everybody who followed me for the contest!  Keep a look out for my upcoming giveaway for Under the Never Sky!

1 Comment

Filed under Giveaway