Top Ten Tuesday (9)

 
Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted at The Broke and The Bookish.  Each week a new top ten list is posted, and to participate all you have to do is fill in YOUR top ten for the list.

This week the topic is:

Top Ten YA Books:

I’m going to do a general top ten YA books list.  I jump around so much from dystopian to fantasy to paranomal, etc, that I don’t know if I can do a more specific list! 

1.  Forbidden – Tabitha Suzuma : I can’t even begin to tell you how incredibly wonderful this book was.  Beautiful and heartbreaking.  I never knew a book on such a taboo topic could be so beautiful.

2.  Cinder – Marissa Meyer : My favorite fairy-tale retelling I have read so far.  The only complaint I can make is that I have to wait nearly a year for the next one to come out.

3.  Fins are Forever – Tera Lynn Childs : I love the world that Tera creates for this series.  All of the characters are so much fun and have so much life. 

4.  The Girl who Chased the Moon – Sarah Addison Allen : This novel was beautifully written and had a hint of magic in it.  I couldn’t read it fast enough and I loved the ending.  Really this one could be either adult or YA.

5.  The Harry Potter series – J.K. Rowling : Yes, this is counting as a single entry.  This whole series was marvelous and over the span of the books, the characters grew and changed and you just can’t help but be so attached to them all.  The wizarding world of this series is fantastic and make you want to dive in and stay there.

6.  Anna Dressed in Blood – Kendare Blake : This was the first novel I can think of that I read from a first person point of view of a guy.  It was a perfect Halloween read and I can’t wait for the next book.  This book came the closest to creeping me out of all the “scary” books I have read.  (I’m really hard to scare.)

7.  Wicked Lovely – Melissa Marr : A wonderful book for the fairy world.  I wanted to read this book just because of the cover, and I am certainly glad I did.  It was a fun book with strong characters and a great world.

8.  Tempest Rising – Tracy Deebs : Another mermaid novel, but much darker than the Fins series.  Some parts of this book were downright painful; my heart hurt so much for the main character.

9.  Delirium – Lauren Oliver : Just finished this one, and it was really great.  The world is so horrible that she is forced to live in and I like the way the author develops the main character.

10.  The Near Witch – Victoria Schwab : I loved the way this one is told, almost like a folk tale with a rich voice.  Wonderful.

5 Comments

Filed under Top Ten Tuesday, Weekly Memes

5 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday (9)

  1. Cinder is amazing! And I definitely want to read The Girl Who Chased The Moon, I love her other books – The Peach Keeper and The Sugar Queen.

    Awesome list 🙂

  2. Totally agree about HP. My co-blogger, Taylor, just finished Cinder and LOVED it. I’ve got to read that asap! And I hate the whole “waiting a year or more” for the sequel. Makes me crazy.!

  3. usagi.

    Some very excellent choices here – especially Cinder. LOVED IT! And thanks for visiting my TTT this week!

  4. Sad to say that I haven’t read all of these 😦 Anyway, I do love Harry Potter and the Wicked Lovely series.

    Thanks for stopping by!

  5. Tee

    So many people are mentioning Cinder today. I need to read this book! I love any kind of retelling (I mean, if it’s good, obviously).

Leave a Reply

