*Review* Delirium – Lauren Oliver

 Delirium

Lauren Oliver

441 pages

ISBN: 9780061726828

Read 3-13-12

Source: Library

Format: Audiobook

 Before scientists found the cure, people thought love was a good thing. They didn’t understand that once love — the deliria — blooms in your blood, there is no escaping its hold. Things are different now. Scientists are able to eradicate love, and the government demands that all citizens receive the cure upon turning eighteen. Lena Holoway has always looked forward to the day when she’ll be cured. A life without love is a life without pain: safe, measured, predictable, and happy.
But with ninety-five days left until her treatment, Lena does the unthinkable: She falls in love.

      This is a wonderfully fresh kind of book to read.  This is an idea I have never seen before and couldn’t wait to read.  Love a disease? Immensely original!  The world in this book is so ugly; people who are cured make it seem so great, and for a long time Lena thought it was great, too, until she learned the truth and saw how ugly the world she lived in was.

The author does such a great job with her words.  The descriptions are fantastic and the reader for the audiobook version I listened to did an absolutely wonderful job bringing the book to life as she performed it.  I loved how Lena changed so much from the beginning to the end.  She was so much different by the end of the book; love certainly does change you.  I would have liked to have seen a bit more from Alex, though.  For some reason I didn’t connect with him as well.  He just wasn’t the dreamy book boyfriend I was hoping he would turn out to be.

I’m not crazy about people on the covers of my books, but this one was a great cover and I loved the colors, which make me think of spring.  I like the cover for Pandemonium even more and it reminds me of the fall.  There was a couple of twists in the story, and I can’t wait to see the outcome of them!  The writing of this novel swallows you up and keep you glued to the same place for a while and you feel so much emotion right alongside Lena.  My heart hurt at so many points in this book and others made me angry and others made me smile.  It was up, down, up, down.

Rollercoaster of feelings, wonderful description, unique plot, didn’t connect to the main male character.

4 Comments

Filed under 4.5 Stars, Dystopian, Fiction, Romance, Young Adult

4 responses to “*Review* Delirium – Lauren Oliver

  1. I’m so glad you have a recent of this! I feel like the only person who hasn’t read it sometimes! I am interested in how possible it is to make the love as disease concept believable.

    • I was pretty surprised by the love as a disease thing, and the author made it work really well. There’s plenty I feel pretty behind on also, like The Iron King, Beautiful Creatures, and Mortal Instruments series!

  2. Hecate

    normally, i don’t like reading young adult books (bad experiences, weren’t really to my liking), but your review has really intrigued me! I’m thinking of looking into this! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

