*Review* Daughter of Smoke and Bone – Laini Taylor

 Daughter of Smoke and Bone

Laini Taylor

432 pages

ISBN: 9780316134026

Read 4-17-12

Source: Library

Format: Audiobook

Around the world, black handprints are appearing on doorways, scorched there by winged strangers who have crept through a slit in the sky.
In a dark and dusty shop, a devil’s supply of human teeth grown dangerously low.


And in the tangled lanes of Prague, a young art student is about to be caught up in a brutal otherwordly war.


     Meet Karou. She fills her sketchbooks with monsters that may or may not be real; she’s prone to disappearing on mysterious “errands”; she speaks many languages—not all of them human; and her bright blue hair actually grows out of her head that color. Who is she? That is the question that haunts her, and she’s about to find out.
     When one of the strangers—beautiful, haunted Akiva—fixes his fire-colored eyes on her in an alley in Marrakesh, the result is blood and starlight, secrets unveiled, and a star-crossed love whose roots drink deep of a violent past. But will Karou live to regret learning the truth about herself?

     Ok, first, I have to apologize for my blog being slow right now, but I am currently house hunting, so I am super excited about that!  I am going to try my best to keep up with as much as I can while hunting a house.  Hopefully soon I will have a nice little “library” room in my new house 🙂  Now to the review!

One of my favorite things about listening to this book was the reader.  She was beyond fantastic!  Great accents, great voices, great performance.  I’m not much of one for owning audiobooks, but this one was so awesome, I really want a copy.  Khristine Hvam is the best audiobook reader I have had the pleasure of listening to so far and she did a wonderful job at bringing the characters to life!

As for the characters, they were so much fun and full of life, even if I had read the book instead of listened to it.  One of my favorite characters was Zuzana, Karou’s super feisty, pint-sized best friend.  She reminds you of that best friend you have that loves you and is there for you no matter what and she was a perfrect best friend for Karou.  I also liked Karou.  She changes so much over the course of the book.  So much changes for her and her world falls apart and a huge secret is finally revealed that blows her away; who wouldn’t be different after that?  She is strong, though and has a powerful will.  Akiva also evolves through the story, but his change is more like a switch being flipped than a gradual difference in comparison to Karou.

The romanctic aspect of the story wasn’t horrible, but it wasn’t what I wanted either.  I am not crazy about the whole “love at first sight” kind of stuff, or when that powerful little L-word is used after a single day.  I would have liked to have seen more of a build of the relationship than there was.  Though, I did enjoy the feelings that were there; the sweet touches and loving looks, the imagery of it was great.  Which leads to the descriptions in the story.  I LOVED her literary illustration, and I found myself in an artful world that was both dark and beautiful.  I had such a clear image of the creatures and loved all the descriptions of the chimaera because each one was so different.

There were several unique ideas in this novel, from the use of the teeth Brimstone needed to the tattoos on Karou’s hands to a beautiful dance with a ginormous marionette by Zuzana.  It was all so wow.  But be prepared for a bit of heartbreak because life becomes very hard for Karou.  I can’t wait for the next book and it is one I will be counting down the months for!

Amazing characters, superb reader, not where I wanted it for romance, incredible imagery!!

2 Comments

Filed under 4.5 Stars, Audiobook, Fantasy, Fiction, Paranormal, Young Adult

2 responses to “*Review* Daughter of Smoke and Bone – Laini Taylor

  1. Loved your review, so happy that you enjoyed it! I actually fell in love with Akiva! Especially when you learn the whole story-broke my heart!

    • Thanks 🙂 No kidding! It was so sad what happened and I can’t wait for the next one. I even bought this one on B&N today I loved it so much!

Leave a Reply

