*Review* Incarnate – Jodi Meadows

 Incarnate

Jodi Meadows

374 pages

ISBN: 9780062060754

Read 5-4-12

Source: Borrowed

Format: Hardback

New soul

Ana is new. For thousands of years in Range, a million souls have been reincarnated over and over, keeping their memories and experiences from previous lifetimes. When Ana was born, another soul vanished, and no one knows why.

No soul

Even Ana’s own mother thinks she’s a nosoul, an omen of worse things to come, and has kept her away from society. To escape her seclusion and learn whether she’ll be reincarnated, Ana travels to the city of Heart, but its citizens are afraid of what her presence means. When dragons and sylph attack the city, is Ana to blame?

Heart

Sam believes Ana’s new soul is good and worthwhile. When he stands up for her, their relationship blooms. But can he love someone who may live only once, and will Ana’s enemies—human and creature alike—let them be together? Ana needs to uncover the mistake that gave her someone else’s life, but will her quest threaten the peace of Heart and destroy the promise of reincarnation for all?

I couldn’t wait to read this book just because of how very beautiful the cover was!  I was expecting a book that was beautiful on the inside as well and I wasn’t disappointed.  There was so much about this novel I enjoyed.  I’ll start with Ana.  She is a character that grows and blooms into a great person.  She has been told all her life that she was nothing, that she was a nosoul, but she learns to gain confidence in herself thanks to Sam.  Though her self esteem was bashed almost her entire life, she is still a brave character.  She knows so little and wants to soak up as much as she can learn.  Sam’s character was great also.  I am kind of biased though because he reminds me of my own other half <3 and he is amazingly sweet.  I’m really glad Ana has someone like him around.  The side characters like Steph and Sine were very likeable, and of course there is the love to hate character, Li.  She was a horrible person!

The imagery was wonderful and I loved all the descriptions of Heart.  The author was able to portray this mysterious city so well, and my imagination went wild in this story.  My favorite parts where the scenes with piano music.  I started playing music when I was 11, and though I never learned the piano, piano music is my favorite, and I felt like the piano’s singing was all around me.  Lovely!

I was a bit confuse on how they kept track of the years since it was never fully explained.  The beginning started off just a tad bumpy, but when it gets going it really takes off!  There aren’t too many slow places, mainly only in the beginning.  When Ana first met Sam, it seemed their time together skipped forward really fast.  At one point they had been around each other just a couple days, but then on the next page it had been a week, so I didn’t get that beginning build up that I wanted, but I liked their relationship better once they got into Heart anyway.

Huge secrets come out right at the end and a very shocking and disturbing event and discovery happens.  I can’t wait until the next installment of this series!  There were some religious tones to it when it come to the whole “where did we come from” and Janan, the higher being whose existence was debated.  Lovely, lovely, lovely book!  A definite novel to add to TBR lists :)

Beautiful, sweet romance, bumpy start, a bit of shock, great characters, must read!

Leave a comment

Filed under 4.5 Stars, Fantasy, Fiction, Romance, Science Fiction, Young Adult

Leave a Reply

