Musing Monday (11)

 Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading.  Each week we will get a fun reading related question to answer.  This week Musing asks:

If you come across an unfamiliar word, do you stop and look it up right away?

I do look them up!  I can gather the meaning usually from the context, but I still like to look them up to make sure I was right.  I love to learn new words and I even started a new meme called Wordy Wednesday so I can post new words I learned while reading.  I won’t stop right when I get to the word, but I will look it up when I finish the paragraph. The only time I might not is when I am driving and listening to an audiobook.  I’ll look it up when I park if I still remember the word!

7 Comments

Filed under Musing Mondays, Weekly Memes

7 responses to “Musing Monday (11)

  1. Kwizgiver

    I don’t know if I come across new words often enough to play along with your Wednesday meme but it is a great concept! I like the dictionary feature on my Nook, otherwise, I try to look the word up when I’m done a section or chapter.

  2. techeditor

    No. I can almost always figure out what it means from the context of the sentence.

  3. I love words…the meanings, the etymology, the different way people pronounce them. I’ll have to stop back by on Wednesday to check out your new meme. Thanks for stopping by mine today.

  4. You have a very good system. Thanks for visiting.

  5. I should probably follow your lead and start checking out the unfamiliar words 🙂 Would save me a lot of confusion!
    But I usually forget them after two pages, so I should probably start writing them down or something.. But since I don’t ever stop reading because of an unknown word and forget them after two pages, it’s pretty challenging to even try to write them down :DD
    But now I’ll try! 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by!

    Monaliz @ Mind Reading?

  6. Hi! Thanks for stopping by my blog!

    I gather the meaning from the context too but I am way too lazy to make sure. 😉

Leave a Reply

