*Review* White Cat – Holly Black

 White Cat

Holly Black

310 pages

ISBN: 9781416963967

Read 5-27-12

Format: Audiobook

Source: Library

The first in a trilogy, this gritty, fast-paced fantasy is rife with the unexpected. Cassel comes from a shady, magical family of con artists and grifters. He doesn’t fit in at home or at school, so he’s used to feeling like an outsider. He’s also used to feeling guilty—he killed his best friend, Lila, years ago.

But when Cassel begins to have strange dreams about a white cat, and people around him are losing their memories, he starts to wonder what really happened to Lila. In his search for answers, he discovers a wicked plot for power that seems certain to succeed. But Cassel has other ideas—and a plan to con the conmen.

At first, I wasn’t entirely sure if I would enjoy this book since it isn’t my normal kind of read.  I generally don’t read books about thieves and conmen and crime families and such, and I am sure glad I did not let that keep me from trying this book out because I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed this book!

The book was very enjoyable, though at some points, predictable.  It was a fun read and has me quite engrossed as I drove to and from work listening to the audiobook.  Jesse Eisenburg (known for Zombieland and the voice of Blu in Rio) is the reader for the book, and I thought he did a really good job.  He is a fun character in movies I have seen him in, and he is a fun narrator as well.

The story has vivid imagery and I was wincing at the painful parts and curling my nose at the gross parts!  The characters were written pretty ok, I liked Cassels friends a lot and his grandpa.  I thought a couple of the characters could have been a little better, but I’m sure those characters will be developed more in the next two books, and the mother really annoyed me.

The plot was interesting and had some twists in it.  Great read for the first I’ve ever read of a crime world like this.  It was interesting hearing the tips and tricks of being a conman.  I can’t wait to see how things play out in the next books.  I also love the covers with the dots of color, so pretty!

This book has lots of secrets and lies and it is hard to tell who is being truthful and who is being a con.  Great read!

Fun, good imagery, engrossing, a little on the predictable side.

2 Comments

Filed under 4 Stars, Audiobook, Fantasy, Fiction, Young Adult

2 responses to “*Review* White Cat – Holly Black

  1. DUDE. Zombieland kid did it? That’s awesome! I’m happy you enjoy the book! I read it a few weeks back but haven’t gotten around to reviewing it yet, I really can’t wait to see how things turn out with Cassel and his White Cat 🙂

  2. I have had White Cat on my shelf for a long while now and still have not read it. Thanks for the great review and the reminder to pick it up.

Leave a Reply

