Wordy Wednesday (4)

 Wordy Wednesday is a new meme I will have here at On The Shelf.  I love to learn new words and being the avid reader I am, I am bound to come across words I don’t know, so this meme is to spread word knowledge! If you’d like to participate, just post the word and the definition and any other fun facts you may want to list as well.

For this Wordy Wednesday I have:

Laconic: (adj) using few words or expression in few words.

From the Greek “lakonicos.”  Inhabitants from Lakonia, an area around Sparta, were known for their very brief use of speech and were proud of this trait.  “If I enter Laconia, I will raze Sparta to the ground,” was the threat from Philip of Macedon, to which the Spartan’s replied, “If.”

 While Dmitri understood Greek more or less fluently, he was laconic to an extreme, and when he did speak, it was in short bursts of his incomprehensible mountain tongue.”

The Darkening Dream
Andy Gavin

Leave a comment

Filed under Weekly Memes, Wordy Wednesday

Leave a Reply

