30 Days of Books – Day 11 and 12

30 Days of Books

Day 11

 A book you thought you wouldn’t like but ended up loving.

I watched the movie before I read the book (like I normally do), and I wasn’t crazy about the movie.  At all.  It was pretty good to a point, then the ending left me saying WTF??  It was weird and confusing at the end.  I actually didn’t know that the movie was originally a book until a while after I had watched it.  I always like comparing the movie and book, so I decided I would give the book at chance to make up for where the movie fell for me.  I am very glad I read it and I enjoyed it a thousand times more than I ever enjoyed the  movie.  The writing style was great and following the main character around with that intense sense of smell was incredible.  The way the author describe the things he smelled and all the different scents and how they mixed was a fantastic read.  And the ending made a lot more sense than it did in the movie, they just didn’t do a good job adapting it for the big screen.  So, I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed this book, especially after being let down by the movie.

Day 12

A book that disappointed you.

I was pretty disappointed in this book because I was hoping for some kind of heart wrenching tale and it wasn’t.  Not for me anyhow.  There were some things that didn’t seem right to me, and I just didn’t feel very sympathetic to this character.  The only thing I really liked about this book was they way it ended.  It just wasn’t my thing.

Leave a comment

Filed under 30 Days of Books, Random

Leave a Reply

