Musing Mondays (12)

 Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading.  Each week we will get a fun reading related question to answer.  This week Musing asks:

There was an article, this past week, about book covers, and the difference between print & digital covers; about how the digital covers have almost disappeared entirely, while publishers decide to just skip right to the content.

What do you think about this? Do you think the book cover is “dead”? Do you care whether the “covers” on digital books exist or not?

I am one of those people that isn’t very crazy about digital books anyhow.  I don’t like the fact that you can’t go to the shelf and see the book on your shelf or physically hold it.  I feel like all this digital stuff isn’t “real,” and I hate the fact I can’t touch it.  Picking up an e-reader just isn’t the same to me.  I love seeing the covers, and even read through the other pages with the thanks and dedications and such.  It’s all part of the book for me and I think that if it’s important enough for the print copy, it is important enough for the digital copy.  If a person doesn’t want to read it, just press the forward button a couple of extra times.  I love covers and I want to be able to see the cover art before I read the book.  There have been so many times that I have decided to read a book based solely on the cover, and I greatly dislike the fact that they are wanting to take this away from digital copies.

1 Comment

Filed under Musing Mondays, Weekly Memes

One response to “Musing Mondays (12)

  1. techeditor

    I couldn’t care less about covers for e-books because I don’t read them. I like to see my books. But I wouldn’t think it matters to anyone. If they don’t care if they can see the book, why would they care whether they can see the cover?

Leave a Reply

