*Review* Shooting Stars – Allison Rushby

 Shooting Stars

Allison Rushby

265 pages

ISBN: 9780802722980

Read: 6-25-12

Format: Hardcover

Source: Library

Meet Josephine Foster, or Zo Jo as she’s called in the biz. The best pint-sized photographer of them all, Jo doesn’t mind doing what it takes to get that perfect shot, until she’s sent on an undercover assignment to shoot Ned Hartnett—teen superstar and the only celebrity who’s ever been kind to her—at an exclusive rehabilitation retreat in Boston. The money will be enough to pay for Jo’s dream: real photography classes, and maybe even quitting her paparazzi gig for good. Everyone wants to know what Ned’s in for. But Jo certainly doesn’t know what she’s in for: falling in love with Ned was never supposed to be part of her assignment.

Finally, it is time for another review!  Buying and moving into a house takes up a lot of time!  Thanks to everybody for the warm wishes on my new house 🙂 I still have to unpack and do some wall painting.  I’m most excited about getting my new office/library set up!  My desk is so big, it barely fit through the door, had to do a bit of furniture contortioning.  Now, on to the review!

I picked up this book because of the cover.  I thought it was cute and interesting with the camera’s flash trail making a heart.  I love photography, so this one got my attention because of that aspect.  Really, I was kind of hoping for more than what I got.  It was a cute story, but it wasn’t a fantastic story.  I don’t know what it is like in paparazzi life, so I question if there really are serious paparazzi kids like she is.  It wasn’t quite as realistic to me either.  She got a huge job that I would think only a professional would be allowed to get and was going to be paid a HUGE sum of money to do it, like twice my salary huge.  Everything just kind of felt exaggerated.

As far as the characters went, they were ok also, but not super wonderful.  They lacked the personality strength I wanted to see.  There wasn’t much of a love story, mostly just her and the camera.  But, it was a fun book and a quick read, I read the whole book in one sitting, except for the last 11 pages because I was late getting into bed.  All in all, if you want a fast, cute read, then give it a shot.

Cute, fun, flat characters, a bit exaggerated.

Leave a comment

Filed under 3 Stars, Contemporary, Fiction, Young Adult

Leave a Reply

