Wordy Wednesday (6)

 Wordy Wednesday is a new meme I will have here at On The Shelf.  I love to learn new words and being the avid reader I am, I am bound to come across words I don’t know, so this meme is to spread word knowledge! If you’d like to participate, just post the word and the definition and any other fun facts you may want to list as well.  I also like to include the sentence it came from in the book I was reading as long as it doesn’t include spoilers.

For this Wordy Wednesday I have:

Reticent: 1. reluctant; restrained; reserved.  2. to be silent and not speek freely. 3. not tell all that one knows.

From reticere “to keep silent,” originating around 1834.

 “He seemed very reticent in a reply e-mail to my question regarding Ami, evidenced by the fact that there was only one exclamation point in the whole thing.”

Psych Major Syndrome
Alicia Thompson

2 Comments

Filed under Weekly Memes, Wordy Wednesday

2 responses to “Wordy Wednesday (6)

  1. I love Wordy Wednesday! Learning knew words is the best. Then we sound smarter than everyone else 🙂 Just kidding! But it’s always good to see a good use of vocabulary in books! I love seeing words I don’t know and being challenged to look them up!

    • Thanks! It’s fun to do and I like the fact that I am not helping just myself with it, too. Feel free to participate if you’d like 🙂

Leave a Reply

