*Review* Kiss Me Kill Me – Laura Henderson

 Kiss Me Kill Me

Laura Henderson

272 pages

ISBN: 9780385734875

Read 7-10-12

Format: Paperback

Source: Library

Add it on Goodreads!

When 16-year-old Scarlett Wakefield transfers from St. Tabby’s to Wakefield Hall Collegiate, she is relieved that no one knows her dark, haunting secret. A few months ago, Scarlett was invited to an elite party with a guest list full of the hottest names in British society, including Dan McAndrew. Before the party, Scarlett had only imagined what it would be like to have her first kiss with Dan, but on the penthouse terrace, Dan leaned in close and she no longer had to wonder. Their kiss was beautiful and perfect and magical, and then . . . Dan McAndrew took his last breath as she held him in her arms. No one knows how or why Dan died, and everyone at St. Tabby’s believes Scarlett had something to do with it. But now that she’s safely hidden away at Wakefield Hall, Scarlett would rather forget that it ever happened. Only she can’t. Especially when she receives an anonymous note that will set her on the path to clearing her name and finding out what really happened to the first and last boy she kissed.

Ok, so I already wrote up one review, and that was before I realized what a dunce I was.  I don’t know why I didn’t know that this was the first in a series and I thought the story just…ended.  I was not happy with it, and then, I saw on Goodreads that it said Scarlett Wakefield #1 and found that there are 3 other books.  I admit that sometimes, I can be a doofus, so now, I am rewriting the review because the fact that it is one of four makes a big difference!  So…on to the new review….

This book wasn’t exactly what I expected it to be.  I think I expected a whole lot of mystery and who-dunit kind of stuff, twisting plot, surprises around the corner, etc, but that really isn’t what it was for the most part.  Aside from when Dan dies and one other scene, the book is pretty slow. We mostly see Scarlett at the new school and how awkward it is for her to be there and how lonely she is.  Though it was a slower book, it read pretty quickly.  I’m  not sure how I feel about the author’s writing style.  It seems like she writes the same way she talks, more like it is a thought process (if you get what I’m trying to say), but the British slang was fun.  The descriptions were pretty good and it was easy to picture the story.

The characters were really only ok, but most were shallow, which of course they are supposed to be since a lot of them are rich snobs.  There wasn’t a character I thought was really great, and the only one I could come close to saying I did like was one of the side characters, Taylor, and she didn’t come in until the second half of the book.  I do want to read the other three books, but I can’t say I will be in a rush to do it.

Nice descriptions, a bit slow for my taste, okay characters, glad to know it doesn’t just end.

5 Comments

Filed under 3 Stars, Fiction, Mystery, Young Adult

5 responses to “*Review* Kiss Me Kill Me – Laura Henderson

  1. This is one the series that I wasn’t sure of, so I am glad I read this. Thank you for an honest review. I’ll have have to think about this one. 🙂

    Jenea @ Books Live Forever

  2. Hm, kind of a bummer! The idea behind the story sounds good, but it sounds like you (and I) were kind of thinking more along the lines of solving the mystery. Nice honest review though! 🙂

  3. For some reason when you emailed me I thought you were talking about Kill Me Again, but now that I see the book cover I remember!

    Thanks for your review, bummer it iwasn’t what we expected it to be!

  4. This sounded good, but sad to see you didn’t enjoy it too much! Great review though 🙂

    Rabiah
    Confessions of a Readaholic

Leave a Reply

