*Review* Jinx – Meg Cabot

 Jinx

Meg Cabot

262 pages

ISBN: 9780060837648

Read 8-2-12

Format: Audiobook

Source: Library

Add it on Goodreads!

It’s not easy being Jinx.

Jean Honeychurch hates her boring name (not Jean Marie, or Jeanette, just . . . Jean). What’s worse? Her all-too-appropriate nickname, Jinx. Misfortune seems to follow her everywhere she goes even to New York City, where Jinx has moved to get away from the huge mess she caused in her small hometown. Her aunt and uncle welcome her to their Manhattan town house, but her beautiful cousin Tory isn’t so thrilled. . . .

In fact, Tory is hiding a dangerous secret one that could put them all in danger. Soon Jinx realizes it isn’t just bad luck she’s been running from . . . and that the curse she has lived under since the day she was born may be the only thing that can save her life.

Tory’s secret wasn’t what I was expecting it to be, and neither was the book really, but not in a bad way.  This story was a quick, enjoyable read; it would make a good book to sit and read in a day.

Jean (or Jinx) is a nice character, but she was a bit too naive when it came to some things.  Even if she was raised in a completely different state, she would have to be blind not to see some of the things going on.  Zach was a really good character, very laid back, unlike uptight Jean, the preacher’s daughter.  Tory was surprising.  She would go to any length to get what she wanted and she was incredibly selfish and self-centered.  Petra was one of my favorite characters.  She was so nice and maternal; there for whatever you need.

The narrator of the audiobook did pretty well.  My favorite voice she did was Petra’s becuase of her accent and she made Tory sound like a malicious, immature child.  The only voice she did that I didn’t care for much was Tory’s dad.  I can’t really explain it, but it just sounded so…weird.

This is the first Meg Cabot book I have read and I’m not yet sure how I feel about her writing based on this book alone.  It was fast and clear, but also repetative.  I still want to read her Abandon and Princess Diaries series, then I can decide what I think of her writing after reading more.  Though I did enjoy the book, I wasn’t overly impressed with it.  I look forward to reading more of her books.

Quick, fun, good reader, a bit repetative.

3 Comments

Filed under 3.5 Stars, Audiobook, Fantasy, Fiction, Magical Realism, Supernatural, Young Adult

3 responses to “*Review* Jinx – Meg Cabot

  1. This was the first Cabot book I read as well. I have to admit, it’s one of my favorites. However, I can see how someone wouldn’t be overly impressed with it.

  2. i guess I really need to read some more of her books. This sounds pretty good. Great review.

    Jenea @ Books Live Forever

  3. Haha, I’ve got to read this book ..Jinx is my nickname too! 😉 ..bummer, you didn’t like the book much.

Leave a Reply

