Musing Mondays (14)

  Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading.  Each week we will get a fun reading related question to answer.  This week Musing asks:

What attracts you to a book blog? What puts you off in a book blog? Do you share personal stuff on your book blog?

I look for blogs that show a lot of books on a regular basis.  I like both reviews and memes (and giveaways of course, too).  I like blogs that look nice and orderly with good backgrounds and nice font with colors that don’t hurt your eyes.  I also like it when a blogger has ratings posted for the books they review (I’m a 1-5 star person myself.  I don’t care much for blogs that have too much crammed on them everywhere.  My blog has colomns that line either side so my announcements, archives, currently reding, etc line the main content in an orderly way.  I also don’t care for word verification much.  It isn’t so bad if I have to put in a word once and be done with it, but I really get annoyed with the ones that I have to put in my name, next page do the words, next page do my name again, and finally published. As for sharing personal stuff on my blog, I don’t really.  I have an about me page, and sometimes if a post calls for it, I may have other info on me, but my blog is for books not me, so I don’t often put up stuff about me.  I used to participate in a meme called Know Me Better, which I really liked, but the blog hasn’t done it again for quite some time.

9 Comments

Filed under Musing Mondays, Weekly Memes

9 responses to “Musing Mondays (14)

  1. I have to consider going to stars..not sure

  2. I think we all agree on the neatness, and clutter-free blogs. Very nice blog and I can find what I want 😀 I’m following you on twitter!!!

  3. I hate word verification also, even though it has nothing whatsoever to do with reading books, it still turns me off to visiting that blog again. Once in awhile I will get up close and personal, it all depends what is happening in my life.

  4. Who doesn’t like a good giveaway hehe. here’s my Musing

  5. Kwizgiver

    I might have to start a books-only blog. Right now it’s a personal blog that talks about books. I feel like I don’t read enough to do a books only blog.

  6. I really hate the new Blogger word verification…and how it is damaging my eyes…lol

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts…and for visiting my blog.

  7. I have a separate personal blog, so my book blog is all about the books (and authors, occasional prizes, etc). And I’m totally with you on the word verification!

  8. I like a good looking blog too – easily read, and not a cookie-cutter design. I also like to see book reviews & memes – although I like reading some blogs that have books I would never read, but the writing or style is just amazing.

Leave a Reply

