*Review* Switched – Amanda Hocking

 Switched (Trylle Trilogy #1)

Amanda Hocking

304 pages

ISBN: 9781453688939

Read 8-10-12

Format: Audiobook

Source: Library

Add it on Goodreads!

When Wendy Everly was six-years-old, her mother was convinced she was a monster and tried to kill her. It isn’t until eleven years later that Wendy finds out her mother might’ve been telling the truth. With the help of Finn Holmes, Wendy finds herself in a world she never knew existed – and it’s one she’s not sure if she wants to be a part of.

I actually own the firs two books in the trilogy, but on a hunt to the library for another audiobook, I found all three books sitting pretty on the shelf just waiting to be listened to, so I snatched them all up at once.  I can understand why this book went from self-published e-book sensation to having an actual print copy.  I really enjoyed the book and found it quite engaging.  It was a fast-paced read and the narrator was really great.  She was very clear and her voices were distinct.

As for the characters, I loved some and I hated some.  Among my favorites of course was Wendy, a bit of a brat and trouble maker growing up, but she still always wanted to do things right.  I get so aggravated for her in certain places in the book, especially when she has to deal with Elora, who is on my not so liked list.  Finn is okay, but not among my favorite book boyfriend types.  I did like both Rhys and Tove who were two other male characters we see often in the book.  And I also liked Willa, though I had to warm up to her a bit first.

The romance part of the story fell a bit flat for me, however.  With the way Finn acted around Wendy, I have no clue why she started liking him in the first place.  Though, later on, I know why she would then after spending so much time with him.

This kind of new concept on troll lore is very interesting and I like the way the author ties troll traits into the Trylle.  I would have liked to have seen more of the Trylle community other than just the higher end of society.  We really didn’t get to see any of Forening other than a nice view from high above.  I also got pretty aggravated with how people expected Wendy to just know how Trylle life worked.  How could she know if she just found out she was Trylle?!  People would get onto her (mainly Elora) when she didn’t do something right or didn’t know about some part of Trylle living.  She didn’t come preset to know it all, she needs to be taught and told the correct customs.

The writing was pretty good, though I would have liked more descriptions in some places.  I am really looking forward to Torn, the second book in the trilogy and I recommend this book to anyone looking for a fresh take on troll lore.

Engaging, fast-paced, good characters, bit of a flat romance.

Leave a comment

Filed under 4 Stars, Audiobook, Fantasy, Fiction, Young Adult

Leave a Reply

