Top Ten Tuesday (20)

 Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted at The Broke and The Bookish.  Each week a new top ten list is posted, and to participate all you have to do is fill in YOUR top ten for the list.

This week the topic is:

Top Ten Bookish Confessions 

1.  I keep every book I have ever owned, even books I don’t like.  I just don’t have the ability to get rid of them, lol.  I also have all my goosebump books from when I was younger.

2. I HATE when stores put stickers on book covers.  Really, it drives me bonkers, and I will work for a long, long time to get the sticky off.

3. When I buy hardcover books, I look under the jacket to see what the cover looks like underneath.  If I don’t like that cover, it is irrelevant, I just do that to check it out.  Every time.

4.  I refuse to buy any e-books, unless it is to support self-publishing authors or they are free ones.  I own two Nooks, classic and color, and I didn’t buy either of those, they were both gifted.  I am not a supported of electronic books stuff.  Can’t help it, I just can’t handle not having the actual book!

5. There are a bunch of classics I haven’t read yet, like To Kill a Mockingbird, Catcher in the Rye, The Scarlet Letter, etc.  Someday I will eventually read them, but there are too many books I want to read right now.

6. I would love to have a part time job at B&N, even if it is only 1 day a week, so that I have a job and paycheck specifically for book discounts and book buying money!

7. I love and live at my B&N store so much, the staff have become good friends, expect to see me at least a few tmies a week and know my regular drink order.

8. I order so many books online, the lady at the post office has my 6 digit p.o. box number memorized.

9. Most people will read a book, then see the movie.  I can’t do this.  As much as I can help it, I will watch the movie then read the book.  It just sets me up for disappointment if I read the book first and it makes me mad when I see some of the changes that are made.  But as long as I get the very first movie & book out of the way, it doesn’t matter what order I read/watch the sequels in.

10. I am incredibly stingy with my books.  I don’t like for people to borrow them because I am afraid that I will get them back with broken or creased spines, dog eared pages, dirty or messed up covers, etc.  I am very OCD when it comes to the condition I keep my books in.

Those are my confessions!  So what kind of things do you have to tell on yourself when it comes to books?

7 Comments

Filed under Top Ten Tuesday, Weekly Memes

7 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday (20)

  1. Wow, I can’t believe you’ve kept all your books! That must be a TON.
    Who cares about the classics 😛
    I don’t like ebooks either! Sad to say, but I only have an ereader for Netgalley and Kindle sale books, for the most part! If I really really want to read a book, I’ll borrow it from the library or buy an actual copy! I don’t like reading ebooks! 🙂

  2. I loved the Goosebumps series! I used to have them all but at some point during moves a huge amount of my books disappeared. I haven’t read the classics either. I would also love to work at B&N! That would be a perfect job to have.

    Thanks for stopping by Reading It All.

  3. I’m with you on the sticker thing – drives me absolutely crazy! Especially if you cannot get them off – it ruins the cover and leaves a horrible sticky mess. Here’s mine 🙂

  4. I am very stingy with my books as well, I’ve been burned too many times by people who crack the spines.

    Also! Yay Goosebumps. I wish my boyfriend had kept his copies so I could re-read them.

    And oh my goodness, you should read To Kill A Mockingbird, it is such a wonderful book.

    Also? How cool would it be to have a B&N discount. I would not mind working there once a week.

  5. Ugh! Yes! I HATE stickers on books. There’s no freaking point, and sometimes they’re impossible to get off.

  6. I’m the same way with my books. I don’t want people borrowing them because I fear they will be ruined. And I never give a book away. I still have my college ones. and those stickers are evil. grrrr haha great list!

  7. I can see your point about wanting to see the movie before reading the book. I’m thinking about doing that with Perks of Being a Wallflower.

    I worked in a bookstore once and the discounts were a great perk, and it’s fun too. That’s great your B&N knows you so well 🙂

    And I totally understand your reluctance to loan out your books. I don’t know why people treat borrowed books so badly, and I wonder if they treat their own books that way?

    Classics aren’t a priority for me either, so I’d let yourself off the hook for that.

    Thanks for sharing your bookish confessions!

Leave a Reply

