Wordy Wednesday (9)

 Wordy Wednesday is a meme I host here at On The Shelf.  I love to learn new words and being the avid reader I am, I am bound to come across words I don’t know, so this meme is to spread word knowledge! If you’d like to participate, just post the word and the definition and any other fun facts you may want to list as well.  I also like to include the sentence it came from in the book I was reading as long as it doesn’t include spoilers.

For this Wordy Wednesday I have:

Cudgel:  1. (n) a stick used as a weapon. 2. (v) to strike with or beat with a cudgel. 3. to come to the defense (take up cudgels, like take up arms). 4. to remember something or think hard about something (cudgel on’es brain).

From the Old English word “cycgel” for “stick with round head,” and was first used as a verb around 1596.

 “Excellent stroke with the cudgel,” Stephen said. “But only a superficial wound.”

1 Comment

Filed under Weekly Memes, Wordy Wednesday

One response to “Wordy Wednesday (9)

Leave a Reply

