*Review* Kissing Shakespeare – Pamela Mingle

 Kissing Shakespeare

Pamela Mingle

352 pages

ISBN: 9780385741965

Read 8-31-12

Format: Hardcover

Source: Borrowed

Add it to Goodreads!

 Miranda has Shakespeare in her blood: she hopes one day to become a Shakespearean actor like her famous parents. At least, she does until her disastrous performance in her school’s staging of The Taming of the Shrew. Humiliated, Miranda skips the opening-night party. All she wants to do is hide. 

Fellow cast member, Stephen Langford, has other plans for Miranda. When he steps out of the backstage shadows and asks if she’d like to meetShakespeare, Miranda thinks he’s a total nutcase. But before she can object, Stephen whisks her back to 16th century England—the world Stephen’s really from. He wants Miranda to use her acting talents and modern-day charms on the young Will Shakespeare. Without her help, Stephen claims, the world will lost its greatest playwright. 

Miranda isn’t convinced she’s the girl for the job. Why would Shakespeare care about her? And just who is this infuriating time traveler, Stephen Langford? Reluctantly, she agrees to help, knowing that it’s her only chance of getting back to the present and her “real” life. What Miranda doesn’t bargain for is finding true love . . . with no acting required.

After a synopsis like that, I was really looking forward to reading this book.  I added it to my TBR back in November and was thrilled when it finally came out.  I was looking forward to a fabulously romantic book, but unfortunately, it was not what I was hoping for.

The lead character, Miranda, was a bit of a cry baby, but other than that she was only ok and I didn’t really connect with her very well.  Stephen I has mixed feelings on, and Shakespeare was mostly a good character, a gentleman ALMOST  all of the time.

As for charming Shakespeare, it was definitely not just charming that Stephen wanted Miranda to do and I was a bit annoyed at how much he was pushing Miranda to sleep with Shakespeare, like sex is the answer to everything.

The writing on the other hand, was great.  This book was incredibly well-written and perfectly descriptive.  Some of the dialogue could have been better, but I really enjoyed the writing style itself.  The cover really caught me on this one; it was beautiful, soft and elegant, however, the story didn’t strike me the same way.   It had a lot of potential, but didn’t live up to what I expected.  As for the ending, I did like the way it ended and it was one of the few things I did really like about it.

Great writing, characters lack luster, good ending, bit of a let down.

4 Comments

Filed under 3 Stars, Fiction, Romance, Science Fiction, Young Adult

4 responses to “*Review* Kissing Shakespeare – Pamela Mingle

  1. I’m sorry to hear that you were a bit let down by this one. I haven’t heard many reviews on it, so I really appreciate your opinion. I’ve been thinking about reading this one but I’m not so sure. Maybe I’ll read it to see what I think about it.

    Krystianna @ Downright Dystopian

  2. Sorry to hear this just wasn’t that great for you. I am kinda on the fence with this one. Thank you for the great review.

    Jenea @ Books Live Forever

  3. That is definitely one interesting synopsis! Thanks for your honest review! I have issues with characters I can’t connect with so I completely understand your frustration.

    Have a good holiday love!

  4. Pingback: Blogoversary Countdown – Day 5 | On The Shelf

Leave a Reply

