*Review* Origin – Jessica Khoury and Giveaway!!

 Origin

Jessica Khoury

372 pages

ISBN: 9781595145956

Read 9-6-12

Format: ARC Paperback

Source: Gifted

Add it on Goodreads!

Pia has grown up in a secret laboratory hidden deep in the Amazon rain forest. She was raised by a team of scientists who have created her to be the start of a new immortal race. But on the night of her seventeenth birthday, Pia discovers a hole in the electric fence that surrounds her sterile home–and sneaks outside the compound for the first time in her life.

Free in the jungle, Pia meets Eio, a boy from a nearby village. Together, they embark on a race against time to discover the truth about Pia’s origin–a truth with deadly consequences that will change their lives forever.
Origin is a beautifully told, shocking new way to look at an age-old desire: to live forever, no matter the cost.

This book was really something!  I truly enjoyed it and thought it was very creative, vivid and…wow.   It was very surprising and really incredible.  There are secrets all over the place in the compound that Pia is never allowed out of and she has never before had a taste of the outside world until the storm that puts a whole in the fence.  In the beginning, the world of the compound feels so small, and we feel caged right along with Pia, who at first doesn’t feel like she is in a cage at all.  Once out in the jungle, the world becomes vibrant and marvelous.

I loved the descriptions in this story and felt that it was all so colorful and rich.  The scientific language felt real and it seems the author was knowledgeable and did her research really well for this aspect of the book.  I liked the way everything tied together.  There were two things I would have liked to know what happened with (I don’t want to give anything away), but it wasn’t anything that left huge plot holes.

I liked Pia, at first, her mentality of being perfect was a bit annoying, but then she started to grow as she learned more stuff about the world and herself.  Eio was strong and fun, a great fit to Pia and patient with her.  At first I wasn’t crazy about Dr. Fields, but I slowly started to like her more when we got to see more of her.  I really enjoy the Ai’oan villagers, too.

The current trend with books is that so many stories are coming out as trilogies.  As much as I like continuing stories, sometimes a good one-shot kind of book is great, too, and this one really was.  It felt complete and I was satisfied with the whole thing.  It read quickly, though the very beginning was a bit on the slower side as we learn the scientific stuff about Pia.  The second half of the book was really intense and parts were very surprising.

The cover is lovely and I really like the way they had Pia on the cover, but not really since it was a white silhouette and the jungle colors are so gorgeous.  The whole book was like a bird discovering freedom for the first time and it was wonderful!

Vivid descriptions, fresh story, a little slow to start, great stand alone book!

And now for the giveaway!!!!  It will run from now until Midnight on Friday the 14th and it is international.  Click the link here to get to my special giveaway hosting blog to enter!   Good luck to everybody!

6 Comments

Filed under 4.5 Stars, Fiction, Giveaway, Science Fiction, Young Adult

6 responses to “*Review* Origin – Jessica Khoury and Giveaway!!

  1. I’m glad you liked it! Sadly, I just never made the connection with Pia 😦 I felt like she was such a boring character (for me). It was a really great story and I loved the concept behind it! And I LOVE that it’s a standalone! I love a good series and all, but it’s overwhelming with how many I need to keep up with ! 🙂

  2. I’m so glad you liked this one! I’m really looking forward to it! ❤ Thanks for sharing!

  3. Ileana A.

    I’ve heard a lot of great things about Origin, that i’m dying to read it! The world that Jessica Khoury create looks really amazing, and you just want to find out more and more about and the characters! Thank you for the review!

  4. I’m even more eager to read Origin since it’s a standalone. (I have trilogy fatigue) Origin sounds fantastic and I love the cover. And your review makes me want to pick it up right away!

  5. Origin was good, but not one of my favorites. I’m glad it was a stand alone. As much as I like trilogies and series sometimes I like for books to just have an end that I don’t have to wait for.

  6. JennH

    Thanks for the giveaway! Been wanting to read Origin since I first heard about it and great review! It makes me really want to read it RIGHT now ;D

Leave a Reply

