*Review* Freaky Green Eyes – Joyce Carol Oates

 Freaky Green Eyes

Joyce Carol Oates

368 pages

ISBN: 9780064473484

Read 9-25-12

Format: Audiobook

Source: Library

Add it on Goodreads!

“Later, I would think of it as crossing over. From a known territory into an unknown. From a place where people know you to a place where people only think they know you.”

Sometimes Franky Pierson has a hard time dealing with life. Like when her parents separate and her mother vanishes, Franky wants to believe that her mom has simply pulled a disappearing act. Yet deep within herself, a secret part of her she calls Freaky Green Eyes knows that something is terribly wrong. And only Freaky can open Franky’s eyes to the truth.

I thought this book sounded really interesting from the synopsis.  Alter ego? Missing parent? Sounds like a good story set up.  Unfortunately, I was fooled.  I really didn’t care for this book, even from disc 1, but I kept on trucking.

I thought Freaky was going to be almost like a different personality, like Franky was going to be someone else, but really, Freaky is sort of the voice of reason and smart aleck comments inside Franky’s head.  There wasn’t anything exciting about Freaky, now the book.  While the book as a whole is well-written, there are no surprises or twists.  Everything is exactly what it looks like.

This book deals a lot with physical abuse, which is a horrible, horrible thing, and I didn’t not like the book due to what it dealt with because I gave Split a 5 star review and it was much more detailed than any abuse in this book; I just didn’t care much for a lot of this book, not just the subject matter.  Franky was a character I couldn’t connect with or empathize with.  It seemed like from her point, it was okay that her mother was abused, and even a few times she said that if her mom would act right, she wouldn’t be abused.  So she is saying her mother deserves being beaten?  Franky is the perfect candidate for a battered wife later in life.

This is one of my least favorite audiobooks, too.  The narrator didn’t do badly, but aside from her reading kind of slow and her pauses being too long, I could hear a bunch of thumps and bumps in the background through the entire book.  There was even a couple of times I thought there was something wrong with my car (I listen while I drive) and it drove me crazy.  The only parts I did kind of like were the two police interviews.  I didn’t like the first one initially, but when they did the second one, I liked it much better.  I am glad this was a stand alone, I just don’t know if I could go more than 6 discs for this one.  I saw plenty of reviews where people loved this book, but it just wasn’t my cup of tea.

Slow, no surprises or excitement, didn’t care for the main character, not a good recording.

Leave a comment

Filed under 2.5 Stars, Audiobook, Fiction, Review, Tough Stuff, Young Adult

Leave a Reply

