Wordy Wednesday (11)

 Wordy Wednesday is a meme I host here at On The Shelf.  I love to learn new words and being the avid reader I am, I am bound to come across words I don’t know, so this meme is to spread word knowledge! If you’d like to participate, just post the word and the definition and any other fun facts you may want to list as well.  I also like to include the sentence it came from in the book I was reading as long as it doesn’t include spoilers.

For this Wordy Wednesday I have:

Nacreous: (adj) 1. pearly, lustrous. 2. resembling mother-of-pearl

First used around 1830-1840. Nacre is the technical term for what we know as mother-of-pearl.

 “My gaze fell upon his scales–each was a different shade of orange, red or gold, all slightly nacreous.”

Florence
Ciye Cho

2 Comments

Filed under Weekly Memes, Wordy Wednesday

2 responses to “Wordy Wednesday (11)

  1. I would not have guessed the meaning of nacreous, but it makes sense in the sentence. What a pretty book cover!

Leave a Reply

