Something Strange and Deadly Read Along Week 1

Hosted by Brittany at The Book Addict’s Guide

Week 1
Chapters 1-7 (through page 90)

First impressions of Clarence:

My first impression of Clarence was that he can he a charmer that knows how to get what he wants.  He seems very confident and also secretive, so I’m unsure about his trustworthiness.  I don’t dislike him…yet.

First impressions of Eleanor:

I really like Eleanor.  She seems smart and strong, even if she doesn’t make the best of decisions at times.  She is obviously very devoted to family and wants to do what she can for her brother especially.

First impressions of Daniel:

As for Daniel, I’m not too crazy about him so far.  He is a bit rude and doesn’t seem to care about much yet, but I’m sure his heart will change when Eleanor catches it.

1. Mrs. Fitt decides to hold a seance as a last minute fill-in for the party’s entertainment. How would you feel about this if you were a guest at the party? Do you think that’s wise with the Dead running around?

For me, I think I would stay.  I like ghost stories, haunted places, scary movies, so I would probably be excited about a seance, too.  I do think it was a bit much for the guests for her to hold a seance while the dead walked.

2. Eleanor lives with only her mother and the live-in help since her father passed away and her brother is in New York and possibly taken by the Dead. I feel like the absent family member – especially a parent – is a theme I see a lot in YA novels. Why do you think that is? What aspect does this add to the story?

I think the fact that we are seeing absent parents can make a book more relatable for the many readers that have absentee parents due to death or divorce, etc.  Divorce is high and it has become rare to see households nowadays where both parents are still together.  And the death of a parent is something that is even harder to deal with.  Also, this can have an impact on the character that can make them grow up stronger, faster and more mature.  I grew up with a single mother and I knew I had to step up and be more mature than most kids my age.

3. We first see the steampunk feel when Eleanor wanders into the Centennial Exhibition to find the Spirit-Hunters. What do you think of machines and science fighting the zombies and paranormal?

I think it was a fresh new take on how to get rid of the zombies.  This and Alice in Zomblieland are my first zombie books, but of course I have seen plenty of zombie movies and zombies being fought with science instead of the usual just shoot them in the head move is new and different.

4. What do you think really happened to Elijah? Do you think he was captured by the Dead, or are there more secrets hidden behind his disappearance?

I definitely think there are more secrets to Elijah’s disappearance.  I don’t think he was simply taken by the dead and I believe he may have more to do with the dead than we think.  I have some ideas, but I don’t want to possibly spoil the book for anybody with my speculations.

Thought so far:

So far, I am really enjoying the book.  I don’t want to put it down!  There are so many secrets and I don’t entirely know who to trust yet.

4 Comments

Filed under Random

4 responses to “Something Strange and Deadly Read Along Week 1

  1. Pingback: In My Mailbox (23) and Weekly Wrap-Up | On The Shelf

  2. I’m so glad you’re enjoying it!!
    I was kind of annoyed by Daniel at first too. I was like, What’s his deal and when is this attitude gonna stop? Haha.
    I know, it seems like there’s a lot of mystery surrounding Elijah’s disappearance. I wasn’t sure if we should take Eleanor’s take on why he’s still missing or if there was something more there that we just weren’t getting…. but definitely missing some pieces.
    Loved reading your answers! 🙂

  3. Great answers, Vyki. Daniel comes on strong and like a jerk but I think you’re right that that will change soon enough. I’m curious to know what you think happened to Elijah. Let us know in the weeks to come if your suspicions came true!

  4. Good answers, Vyki! I agree with you about Elijah, there’s definitely more to his story than we know so far. I’m not sure which side he’s on yet. Could he be on the side of the dead as away of exacting revenge on some certain Academy boys?! Hmmm!

Leave a Reply

