Top Ten Tuesday (25)

 Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted at The Broke and The Bookish.  Each week a new top ten list is posted, and to participate all you have to do is fill in YOUR top ten for the list.

This week the topic is:

Top Ten Favorite Authors in X Genre
My Choice: Newer YA Authors (past 2 yrs)

1. Stephanie Perkins: She really won me over with Anna and the French Kiss and also turned me on to contemporaries.  She is one I will make sure I read every book she comes out with.

2. Marissa Meyer:  Wow.  I LOVED Cinder.  It was amazing, so she easily won me over.  Plus, she is a Sailor Moon fan!

3. Katie McGarryPushing the Limits was so incredible

4. Lauren Destefano:  She is hilarious and has some super random tweets.  She also has great stories ideas!

5. Jodi MeadowsIncarnate was awesome and her descriptions were magical.  Some of her scenes were so immensely beautiful and I can’t not like her.

6. Victoria SchwabThe Near Witch was an incredible and her writing style is elegant and rich.

7. Mike Mullin:  His story Ashfall was a terrifyingly realistic post-apocalyptic novel that I couldn’t get out of my head even if I wanted to.

8. Lauren Oliver: She has awesome quotes in her books and the concept she had for love in Delirium was so unique.  She writes in a way that makes it hard to put her books down.

9. Kendare Blake: Anna Dressed in Blood was incredible!  The characters were great, the story was great, and I didn’t want it to end.

10. Michelle Hodkin: I loved how she can make you feel like you are going crazy when the main character thinks she is going crazy.  She has writing that you can easily get into and put yourself in.

7 Comments

Filed under Top Ten Tuesday, Weekly Memes

7 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday (25)

  1. I just bought Cinder! I hope to start it soon…ish. Sailor Moon is always the bee’s knees, are you just excited for the reboot as I am??

  2. I’ll have to look up some of these authors! 🙂 Here’s my TTT: Top Ten Contemporary Young Adult Authors
    http://aliceinreaderland.wordpress.com/2012/10/16/top-ten-favorite-contemporary-ya-authors/

  3. You have excellent taste in authors, Vyki! Perkins, Oliver, and Destefano are favorites of mine too. I still need to read the Ashfall series and Michelle Hodkin’s books too. Thanks for the recs!

  4. I loved Cinder! I liked The near witch, it should get more attention. I like Lauren Oliver’s MG books. Wither is pretty good, I really need to read the other books. And I’m also so excited to try Anna dressed in blood!

    Aamazing list 🙂
    TTT fairytales authors @thedailyprophecy.

  5. Great list!
    I LOVED Anna and the French Kiss! Cinder and Ashfall are both on my tbr list, can’t wait to get to them! 🙂

  6. I didn’t know Marissa Meyer is a Sailor Moon fan. I used to watch the English dubbed version of that show all the time when I was fourteen. I totally had a crush on Darien/Tuxedo Mask.

    I love Pushing the Limits, too. So, so, good.

  7. Great list, some of these on your list are my favourites too: Stephanie Perkins, Marissa Meyer (I can’t believe I didn’t include her on my list, Cinder was so awesome), and Kendare Blake (I loved Anna Dressed in Blood, I still haven’t read Girl of Nightmares yet). I haven’t read the other ones on your list.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. Sorry for the very late reply.

    Nazish @ Nazish Reads

Leave a Reply

