Top Ten Tuesday (26)

 Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted at The Broke and The Bookish.  Each week a new top ten list is posted, and to participate all you have to do is fill in YOUR top ten for the list.

This week the topic is:

Top Ten Books to Get into the Halloween Spirit

I’m going to split this into read and to read 🙂

READ:

1. Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake: This was such a good book!  It was fun and just the right amount of gruesome.  Plus this book has some the closest to creeping me out (it is really hard to accomplish), so of course it gets a lot of points for that.  Plus the characters were awesome.

2. The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman:  It isn’t scary, but it is very creative and about a boy who grew up in a graveyard raised by all the ghosts.  A great read and very Gaiman.

3. Graveminder by Melissa Marr: This is a zombie book, but not YA.  It was pretty good and very interesting with how the zombies should be handled.

4. Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter:  I just finished this one last night and it was AMAZING.  Definitely one of my favorite reads this year!  The zombies are quite different in this book and Ali is pretty cool.

5. Something Strange and Deadly by Susan Dennard:  Technically, this one isn’t read because I am currently reading it, but it is getting counted because it is soo good.  There is a lot of stuff going on and I don’t want to put it down.  It is another zombie book with a little bit of steampunk.

TO READ:

6. Bone Dressing by Michelle I. Brooks: A review request from the author.  This story has such a unique concept, I just couldn’t pass it up!

7. Girl of Nightmares by Kendare Blake:  The sequel to Anna Dressed in Blood.  I can’t wait to read this one after what happened in the first book.

8. Ten by Gretchen McNeil: I am peeved I am still waiting on this book from the library!  It sounds so good and the book trailer for it was really thrilling.  I haven’t read a good murder mystery in quite some time and after I read this one I am going to go back and read And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie, which I haven’t read in 15 years.

9. House of Leaves by Mark Z. Danielewski:  A roommate I had a couple of years ago told me this was the creepiest book she has ever read, so of course I have to read this one.  It is also written very strangely.  Every word “house” is in blue, some pages have a square in of text, some have only one word, some even have text going in different directions.  Couldn’t pass it up.

10. Snow White, Blood Red by Ellen Datlow and other authors:  This is a book of horror short stories.  A fun way to read a different story several nights during the month of October to get into the Halloween spririt!

So what Halloween reads do you have?

10 Comments

Filed under Top Ten Tuesday, Weekly Memes

10 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday (26)

  1. I liked Ten! It was pretty fun and creepy – It really was perfect for Halloween!
    Great choices!! 🙂

  2. Awesome list. I saw the author of House of Leaves speak at Comic-Con, and talking to fans of the book really got me interested in reading it. It sounds so creative and terrifying! Looking forward to hearing what you think of Girl of Nightmares. Happy spooky reading!

  3. nightmareonbookstreet

    The Graveyard Book made it onto my list as well. Love me some Neil gaiman!
    My TTT: http://nightmareonbookstreet.blogspot.com/2012/10/top-ten-tuesday-get-me-in-mooood.html

  4. Graveminder was such a good read, I loved how unique it was. I included Anna on my list, but I still need to read it, haha!

    My Top Ten

  5. Smash Attack

    House of Leaves! I need to try and read it again. I tried to read it in my early 20s and I just couldn’t. I know what a monumental WTF it is though, and I love those types of books now!

  6. I liked Alice in Zombieland, too. I didn’t think of adding it to today’s TTT, but I should have. A book with zombies is perfect for Halloween.

    I like how you have books you’ve read, and books you haven’t That is a good idea, because I have a number of books out now that would be good Halloween reads.

  7. Hmmm I’m curious about House of Leaves now. O.o
    Amber Elise @ Du Livre

  8. Anna Dress in Blood has been on my wishlist for the longest time!

  9. Great list, I’ve been wanting to read Ten and Graveminder, I didn’t realize it was a zombie book. Thanks for stopping by my blog! (=

  10. I really like how you put books you’ve not read yet – there are times with my top ten that there are books that I think would be right but because I haven’t read the book yet I don’t put them on.

Leave a Reply

