*Review* Fallen – Lauren Kate

 Fallen

Lauren Kate

452 pages

ISBN: 9780385738934

Read 10-27-12

Format: Audiobook

Source: Library

Add it on Goodreads!

There’s something achingly familiar about Daniel Grigori.

Mysterious and aloof, he captures Luce Price’s attention from the moment she sees him on her first day at the Sword & Cross boarding school in sultry Savannah. He’s the one bright spot in a place where cell phones are forbidden, the other students are all screw-ups, and security cameras watch every move.

Even Daniel wants nothing to do with Luce – he goes out of his way to make that very clear. But she can’t let it go. Drawn to him like a moth to a flame, Luce has to find out what Daniel is so desperate to keep secret…even if it kills her.

For me, this book wasn’t quite as good as I hoped it would be.  I wasn’t overly impressed with any of the characters, though  did like some of them; just didn’t love them.  There wasn’t anything about Luce that wowed me and she became super non-functioning and dumb-struck when Daniel came around.  I don’t like or dislike Daniel.  Honestly, I don’t know him well enough from the first book of this series to make a decision on how much I like him.

The story was kind of enjoyable, but I don’t feel like I know very much from it.  I really didn’t learn much more than what I already knew when I started the book.  In fact, it left me a bit frustrated because nobody wanted to say anything.  There was one part I was surprised and saddened by, and it’s hard to know who to trust.  The reader did a good job, and I found out I have been mispronouncing a word all my life (I think it is a southern thing).  Not a long review for this book.  Don’t really have much to say on it.  It was okay and hopefully I like the next book more.  Oh, and it is insta-love MAJOR, so if you are not a fan of insta-love, you may want to bypass it, if you are, then by all means, check it out!

Insta-love, okay characters, not much revealed, good descriptions.

3 Comments

Filed under 3.5 Stars, Audiobook, Fiction, Paranormal, Review, Romance, Young Adult

3 responses to “*Review* Fallen – Lauren Kate

  1. Sounds just as I expected, like Twilight! Thanks for your honest and fair review, I think I’ll pass. Are you going to continue with the rest of the series?

  2. Yikes! Sounds like I might not like this one… But I bought it at a book sale so I’ll be reading it eventually! Good to know before I start it though. Great review 🙂

  3. Pingback: 2012 Challenges Summary: BA’s Off the Shelf Reading Challenge « Bookish Ardour

Leave a Reply

