Let’s Talk (1): Series

Originally hosted by Melissa from i swim for oceans, Smash & Kt took her original inspiration, and made it their own, expanding it to more than just books. Let’s get personal (but respectfully so) and learn more about one another!  Each week, a different question will be posted along with a place to link up your posts and visit other people’s responses. This meme is definitely meant to bring out conversation and meet new people. So, Let’s Talk!

Today’s Question:

What are your thoughts on series? How many books in a series is too many? What authors do you think handle longer series well, as opposed to ones who seem to stretch it out less successfully?

Well, sometimes I like series and sometimes a like stand alones.  If it is a good series, bring it on!  But I do like to take a break between series with a great stand alone.  Lately, books have been coming in trilogies, and I think a trilogy is a good length for most series, even the 4 book series can be great.  Not too short, not too long.  Certain series, however, I can never get enough of (Harry Potter anyone?)  where some have worn out there welcome.  I however have not read any series yet that I have tired of to the point I wish it would come to an end.  The longest series I have read aside from Harry Potter is James Patteson’s Women’s Murder Club series.  Around book 8 it started to slow down for me, but then it started to redeem itself.

One reason I do like series is because I get so attached to the characters and I am really disappointed when it ends if it is a series I am really enjoying, where with stand alones, that is all you get of the characters and sometimes it just isn’t enough.  The authors that write series well are those who make every book really different and keep adding new things in like new issues and surprises and twists.  J.K. Rowling just kept adding to Harry Potter’s character and he became a much different person than he started out.  The books evolved and became darker, she didn’t beat anything into the ground over and over, and none of it felt like filler writing, everything was important.  Overall, I can’t say I prefer one over the other, it sometimes depends on my mood and how attached to the characters I am.

3 Comments

Filed under Let's Talk, Weekly Memes

3 responses to “Let’s Talk (1): Series

  1. I don’t really mind a series with a lot of books. But some of them just mull over the same stuff over and over again, then it is not worth continuing. Sometimes a standalone is great, everything is all wrapped up. But I am with ya, I really don’t have a preference.

    Jenea @ Books Live Forever

  2. I’m only on book 1 of Women’s Murder club so I’ve got time haha. It’s true though – sometimes if the series goes on too long, it’s like “okay wrap it up already!” but HP…. I’m glad it was wrapped up but I could read it forever!

  3. Fun topic! I like series too but it’s such a fine line with them, and many times I think they go on too long. It is nice when a series book comes out though because you have so much history with the books and can just jump right into the action. But, standalone books are so satisfying too. I guess I’m torn! I like your answer.

Leave a Reply

