Let’s Talk (2): Hobbies

Originally hosted by Melissa from i swim for oceans, Smash & Kt took her original inspiration, and made it their own, expanding it to more than just books. Let’s get personal (but respectfully so) and learn more about one another!  Each week, a different question will be posted along with a place to link up your posts and visit other people’s responses. This meme is definitely meant to bring out conversation and meet new people. So, Let’s Talk!

Today’s Question:

Do you have any hobbies other than blogging/reading? How do you balance them along with all of life’s other responsibilities? Feel free to share pictures.

I do have other hobbies, a few actually.  One of my major hobbies is writing.  I know not every reader wants to be a writer, but I am definitely one who does.  I can remember wanting to be a writer even when I was in elementary school.  I don’t get as much time to write as I would like, but I try to write as often as life allows me to.

Another of my bigger project hobbies is genealogy.  I have been working on my family tree since 2007 and I have a binder that is 2 inches thick full of pedigree charts and notes.  It’s quite fascinating what you find, and even who you find (Geoffrey Chaucer is in my tree!).  Photography is another major hobby for me and I love all the different images that can be created.  Black and white is a favorite and I really want to try hand-coloring b&w images.  I even have a couple of ribbons for local photography contests.

Some other hobbies I have a writing penpals (yes, read letters), cross-stitching, scrapbooking and learning tarot.  It is hard to have time for hobbies when work and life take up so much of it.  My major hobbies are the ones I try to find the most time for and my minor ones I tend to when I can spare just a few extra minutes.  I answer my letters as soon as I can so I don’t fall behind or neglect any of me penpals.  There just isn’t enough time in the day!  What kind of hobbies do you have?

3 Comments

Filed under Let's Talk, Weekly Memes

3 responses to “Let’s Talk (2): Hobbies

  1. I didn’t list writing as one of my hobbies, but it has been something that I have always wanted to do as well. I’ve started a few times, but life always seems to get in the way. *sigh*

  2. Pen pals! How very cool. How did you find them?

Leave a Reply

