Musing Mondays (27)

 Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading.  Each week we will get a fun reading related question to answer.  This week Musing asks:

Have you ever read a book after watching the movie/television version only to find that you don’t like the book as much as the adaptation?

Yes, actually, but very rarely does this ever happen.  I can’t even think of enough examples to fill one hand.  One of the biggest ones I can think of is Beastly by Alex Flinn.  I really liked the movie a lot and I had high hopes for the book, but I turned out being disappointed by it because I felt like I was almost reading Disney’s Beauty and the Beast.  For me, the movie was more original than the book; there were just too many similarities to Disney’s version in the book to me!

6 Comments

Filed under Musing Mondays, Weekly Memes

6 responses to “Musing Mondays (27)

  1. I haven’t seen the movie or read the book, but I’ve heard similar things.

    http://carabosseslibrary.blogspot.com/2012/11/musing-mondays_26.html

  2. That’s good to know. I recently watched the movie Beastly and expected to just think it was alright and ended up loving it. I’ve thought about reading the book, but I haven’t seen very many great reviews. Thanks for stopping by!!

  3. It seems to me by reading some of these that it really depends what came first. If you see the movie first, you probably prefer the movie. If you read the book first, you probably prefer the book. I know I’m like this with a lot of stuff: movies, books, songs. Whatever I was first exposed to is usually my favorite.

  4. I seem to always like the book more.

  5. That’s interesting. I haven’t seen the movie or read the book but now you’ve got me intrigued enough to at least check the movie out! Thanks for sharing and for visiting my blog!

    New Follower! And I love your background…very awesome looking bookshelves! 🙂

    Wendy @ Wendy’s Musings

Leave a Reply

