Let’s Talk (3): Blogging Time

Lets Talk Button

 

Originally hosted by Melissa from i swim for oceansSmash & Kt took her original inspiration, and made it their own, expanding it to more than just books. Let’s get personal (but respectfully so) and learn more about one another!  Each week, a different question will be posted along with a place to link up your posts and visit other people’s responses. This meme is definitely meant to bring out conversation and meet new people. So, Let’s Talk!

Today’s Question:

How much time do you think you spend on blogging each week, including commenting on other blogs, participating in events, Twitter/Facebook blog talk, etc? Do you have a time management system that works well for you? We’d love to know!

I don’t get to spend near as much time as I would like to on the blogosphere.  I try to spend a couple hours a day (in sporadic bits and pieces) if I can during the week, and I aim for much longer during the weekend (though I usually don’t get a chance for it to be much longer).  It is really hard!  I work 8-5 M-F, so during peak commenting hours, I’m stuck at work.  I try to get in time when I can if I take a quick break here or there to make comments.  I have to have the majority of my work done by 2 pm, so I don’t get a lot of time to do that early morning commenting before then.  I also usually spend my lunch hour when I can doing blogger stuff.  Even though I don’t get as much time as I would like, I still make sure to reply to comments and visit others’ links.  I don’t have a time management system.  I don’t think I have any kind of management system, I’m on of those organized chaos types.  This month has been on the slower side with comments and such because of NaNo, and even though I didn’t finish, it was a fun learning experience for my first NaNo!

Vyki Signature Trans 2Check it out I made a blog signature finally!

13 Comments

Filed under Let's Talk, Weekly Memes

13 responses to “Let’s Talk (3): Blogging Time

  1. I know what you mean about commenting during the work day. Sometimes I can do some commenting during the work day, but often I can’t, because I’m working.

  2. therelentlessreader

    If you had won the lottery you could have paid me to blog FOR you 😉 A cool million would have been just fine 😉

    It can be hard to carve out blogging time but once I get going I’m usually in the zone for a few hours, yay!

  3. It’s interesting to see how much time people spend blogging – and coping with working and blogging. My time management system is probably just Evernote, and trying to have posts scheduled in advance, but there’s a lot I don’t do, so I won’t feel pressured by blogging – like not accepting ARC’s and all that. Probably gets me less visitors, but that’s how it has to be for my sanity.

    • When I first started getting review requests, I didn’t want to tell everybody no, and I quickly found out that wasn’t going to work, so now I am still trudging through a pile of promised reviews and I learned I have to be more selective.

  4. Right now I am a stay at home mom, so I have time during the day while the kids are at school. But I am thinking about going back to work and am really going to have to get a schedule for alot of things I guess. I try to take time in the morning and a little at night to comment, but sometimes it doesn’t always work that way. I have stopped taking review request until I geet through the ones I have. Glad you had fun doing NaNo…

  5. Organized chaos – yup that’s me too!

    I used to spend a lot more time blogging in the beginning but I still manage to get in at least 1 hour a day.

  6. Ooh love the blog signature!
    I agree, it’s just so hard to do all this stuff while stuck at work! I usually do a lot at work, but I’m interrupted every 10 seconds by a phone or someone walking up to my desk and then it’s like MINIMIZE!!
    Glad you had fun with NaNo too!

  7. Congrats on NaNo! The whole idea of that sends me into the fetal position.

Leave a Reply

