Best of 2012

I hope everybody had wonderful holidays!  The blog has been quiet this past week since I had Christmas to deal with and family and wrapping and dinners and just so much!  I haven’t even had any time to read this past week.  The only thing I was able to finish was the audiobook I was listening to as I drove.  I was able to meet all my reading challenges this year, though it was kind of tough since I had a huge goal set for myself for my first time doing challenges.  Here is my favorites recap for 2012!

Top Ten Books

Cinder CoverCinder – Marissa Meyer

I can’t even begin to express how much I loved this book!  It’s awesomesauce on pages!  Cyborgs, lunar people, Cinderella, a deadly plague, and Sailor Moon influences.  How could this not turn out awesome?

Forbidden CoverForbidden – Tabitha Suzuma

Oh man, this book!  If I hadn’t been in public when I finished it, I would have cried my eyes out.

Incarnate CoverIncarnate – Jodi Meadows

Best book boyfriend ever and beautiful scenes!

Anna and the French Kiss CoverAnna and the French Kiss – Stephanie Perkins

This book is the reason I even read contemporaries it was THAT good.

Daughter of Smoke and Bone CoverDaughter of Smoke and Bone – Laini Taylor

This has one of the most incredible worlds ever, plus it is my favorite audiobook so far.

Pushing the Limits CoverPushing the Limits – Katie McGarry

An emotional intense contemporary roller coaster and an amazing debut.

Alice in Zombieland coverAlice in Zombieland – Gena Showalter

I loved this book so much more than I thought I was going to.  Alice is an awesome heroine!

Pandemonium CoverPandemonium – Lauren Oliver

My anxiety level was so high by the end of this book, and it felt faster than Delirium.

The Hunger Games CoverThe Hunger Games – Suzanne Collins

I couldn’t put this book down and it really hurt my heart what these kids had to go through.

Just For Fins CoverJust for Fins – Tera Lynn Childs

I love this whole series and this one was definitely fun with lively characters.

Top 3 New to Me Authors
(not including debuts)

Stephanie PerkinsStephanie Perkins

She is the reason I read contemporaries now!

Tabitha SuzumaTabitha Suzuma

She knows how to make a taboo situation beautiful.

Gena ShowalterGena Showalter

This lady can write some incredible action scenes.

Top 3 Debuts

Cinder Cover

Pushing the Limits Cover

Incarnate Cover

Top 3 Covers

Daughter of Smoke and Bone Cover

Incarnate Cover

Alice in Zombieland cover

Top 3 Titles

Under the Never Sky Cover

Daughter of Smoke and Bone Cover

Kissing Shakespeare Cover

Ok, so I think that is it for my Best of 2012!  I hope everybody else had a great reading year for 2012 and may 2013 bring even more awesome books!  Also, don’t forget that tomorrow is the last day to get an extra 10 entries in my giveaway by participating in Cover Crush!  I hope to see a bunch of beautiful covers 🙂

Vyki Signature Trans 2

2 Comments

Filed under Random

2 responses to “Best of 2012

  1. I loved Anna and the French Kiss! THG and Pushing the Limits made my top reads of 2012 too. I just got Cinder for Christmas and I can’t wait to dig into it! Great list!

    • I am jealous that when you read Cinder you won’t have to wait an entire year for Scarlet like I did (I read it the day after it came out) and Cinder is definitely an awesome Christmass gift!

Leave a Reply

