*Review* The Fault in Our Stars – John Green

The Fault in our Stars The Fault in Our Stars

John Green

313 pages

ISBN: 9780525478812

Read 1-15-13

Format: Audiobook

Source: Library

Add it on Goodreads!

Diagnosed with Stage IV thyroid cancer at 13, Hazel was prepared to die until, at 14, a medical miracle shrunk the tumours in her lungs… for now.

Two years post-miracle, sixteen-year-old Hazel is post-everything else, too; post-high school, post-friends and post-normalcy. And even though she could live for a long time (whatever that means), Hazel lives tethered to an oxygen tank, the tumours tenuously kept at bay with a constant chemical assault.

Enter Augustus Waters. A match made at cancer kid support group, Augustus is gorgeous, in remission, and shockingly to her, interested in Hazel. Being with Augustus is both an unexpected destination and a long-needed journey, pushing Hazel to re-examine how sickness and health, life and death, will define her and the legacy that everyone leaves behind.

This was my first time reading John Green and it definitely will not be the last.  This story was so beautiful, poignant and touching.  Very powerful.  It was also my first cancer book.  The author did so well portraying what it is like to be a cancer patient, especially from the female point of view.

Hazel was very strong, even though she was also very sick and Augustus could make anybody’s day bright with his playful quips and positive attitude.  As heartbreaking as this book was at points,  I also found myself laughing pretty hard in places, mainly because of Augustus.  I loved how witty he was.

The writing style was excellent and fluid.  It gave te story a poetic flow and nice sound as the performer read it.  This is one of my favorite audiobooks and you could really feel the emotion in all the right spots.  Even the accents were wonderfully done.   The whole book was simply beautiful and dealth with a tough subject in an incredible way.  I greatly look forward to all works by John Green and highly recommend this book to readers who want to have their heart touch by such a wonderful story.

Powerful, beautiful, amazing, have tissues.

5 bookmarkVyki Signature Trans 2

3 Comments

Filed under 5 Stars, Audiobook, Contemporary, Fiction, Review, Romance, Tough Stuff, Young Adult

3 responses to “*Review* The Fault in Our Stars – John Green

  1. Reading your review has made me want to read this book even more, it’s been on my Kindle for a while.

  2. This sounds like it is beautifully written. Wonderful review. I don’t think I would be able to read this one, because I would be an emotional mess. I lost both of my parents to cancer, so this hits a little too close to home for me. I am happy you enjoyed it. 🙂

    • It definitely would be a hard one for you to read. My grandmother is a breast cancer survivor and last year I saw one of my best friend’s dad pass away from lung cancer only a month and a half after being diagnosed. I knew it would be one to make me an emotional wreck, but it was a beautiful book. If you ever get to a point where you feel ready to tackle a book like this, I hope you pick this one and I’m sorry for your cancer heartbreak.

Leave a Reply

