*Review* The Awakening – L.J. Smith

Awakening Struggle Cover The Awakening (Vampire Diaries #1)

L.J. Smith

276 pages

ISBN: 9780061020001

Read 6-6-13

Format: Audiobook

Source: Library

Add it on Goodreads!

A Love Triangle of Unspeakable Horror… 

Elena: Searching for the ultimate thrill, she vowed to have Stefan.

Stefan: Haunted by his tragic past, he struggled to resist her passion.

Damon: Driven by revenge, he hunted the brother who betrayed him.

The terrifying story of two vampire brothers and the beautiful girl torn between them.

Well, this wasn’t exactly what I was expecting it to be.  I watched the first 3 seasons before I read this book.  I love the TV series, but I wasn’t in love with the book.  At least not this first one.  It is quite different from the show!

Elena was very different between the book and the show.  In the show she is a caring person who puts others before herself, but in the book she was the queen bee at school and manipulated people to get whatever she wanted.  I just didn’t like her very much.

And this book was the worst I have read on insta-love.  It was unreal how fast the insta-love was.  There was no real connection between Elena and Stefan for me.  I understand why Stefan would want Elena, but I don’t know why she wants Stefan other than she feels the need to take whatever she wants.  There was no relationship development.

Stefan on the other hand I actually did like.  He is very mysterious and wants to protect Elena.  We get a good history on him and he is a deeper character than Elena and has a better attitude.

There was soooo many things that were different between this book and the show, I really wouldn’t know where to start with it.  There are characters in the book not in the show and vice versa, characters who have totally different personalities and names where changed and mixed around.  Gotta say I like the TV show better than what I have read so far.  I will keep reading however because I want to see more of Damon (I’m Team Damon all the way) and hopefully I won’t be so annoyed with Elena past the first book.

Annoying main female character, good writing, major insta-love, enjoyed the TV show better.

3 bookmark

 

Vyki Signature Trans 2

7 Comments

Filed under 3 Stars, Audiobook, Fantasy, Fiction, Paranormal, Review, Supernatural, Young Adult

7 responses to “*Review* The Awakening – L.J. Smith

  1. I’m always interested in people’s thoughts on this series. They were the first vampire books I read, nearly fifteen years ago (makes me feel very old!) and I absolutely loved them and still treat them as a bit of a benchmark against which I compare all other paranormal novels.

    I think they must have been one of the very first YA Paranormal Romances and therefore, there’s a lot of stuff in there that seems like total cliche if you’ve reads lots of other PNRs first, but that the author was actually doing more of less for the first time.

    I also think that where there’s a TV series/film and a book with a lot of differences, you’re almost always going to prefer the one you experienced first. I’m the complete opposite to you – I can’t really get into the tv show as it’s so unlike the books I love.

    Anyway, I’d strongly suggest you try The Forbidden Game by the same author. It’s about norse mythology, so it’s rather more unique than vampires and there isn’t an adaptation of it to spoil your enjoyment. One of my all time favourite series.

    • Wow, I didn’t realize that This book was from the early 90s (I usually pay attention to these kind of things), so I can see why it would be so different from nowadays PNR writing. Whenever it comes to books and movie/TV series, as much as I can help it, I have to watch then read. If I read then watch I usually don’t enjoy it very much (I am Legend really made me mad) and generally even if I watch the movie first, I like the book better. There is a very select few where I like the show or movie better. I will definitely have to read The Forbidden Game it sounds really good and I added it to my TBR. Thanks for the suggestion!

  2. I was a little curious as to the similarities with the books to the tv show. I really like the tv show. 🙂 I am soooo Team Damon too!

  3. sophiathebookworm

    Ha! I completely agree. The show is way better and I’ve always been, and always will be, team Damon! Great review!

  4. I read these books a couple of years ago and I really didn’t like them either. I think the series only got worse as I went on so I finally just donated the books to my local library. Elena is definitely a much more likeable character on the show.

  5. Fortunately I read this book when I was so young that insta-love didn’t bother me and Elena just seemed cool, lol. 🙂 Not sure I’d like it much now though, it definitely has an ‘age range’ audience.

Leave a Reply

