A to Z Survey!

A to Z

 

Surveys are fun and I do enjoy them, plus it lets my readers know more about me 🙂  I have seen this survey around that was originally posted over at The Perpetual Page-Turner by Jamie and decided to join in!

Author you’ve read the most books from:

James Patterson.  I have been reading him since around 9th or 10th grade, which has been 15 years, so yeah after that long I guess he would be the one I have the most by.  Nowadays I only really read his Women’s Murder Club books since I am unimpressed with the books lately.  None of them are just him anymore and I feel kind of like he runs a book factory now instead of really writing good books like they used to be.

Best Sequel Ever:

This is a tough one.  It would have to be either Days of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor or Scarlet by Marissa Meyer.  Both were absolutely wonderful and have me highly anticipating the next books.

Currently Reading:

The Ruining by Anna Collomore and so far it hasn’t been the best book sadly.

Drink of Choice While Reading:

Teas!  Green, flavored, Chai, white, as long as they are hot I love them with my books 🙂

E-reader or Physical Book?

Definitely physical books!  I love the way a book feels in my hand and getting to turn the pages.  An e-reader is convenient, but just not the same for me.

Fictional Character You Probably Would Have Actually Dated In High School:

Sam from Incarnate by Jodi Meadows.  He is the sweetest book boyfriend ever, plus he is a musician and me being the band geek that I am swoons over this fact.  Running a close second is Cricket from Lola and the Boy Next Door, adorkable boys are just awesome 🙂

Glad You Gave This Book A Chance:

On the Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta.  This book was way more than just AMAZING and I finally read it because of all the rave reviews I heard about it and it wasn’t my normal kind of read, but I am so glad I did because this story was beautiful.

Hidden Gem Book:

Chime by Franny Billingsley.  It is similar to The Near Witch and I just happened across it at the library on audio.  One of my favorite audiobooks!

Important Moment in your Reading Life:

When I started journaling my reviews for the books I was reading.  This eventually led me to blogging and into this wonderful world of the book blogging community.  Two years later and I am still loving it.

Just Finished:

The Fairest of Them All by Carolyn Turgeon.  It is quite a twisted fairy tale and I loved every minute of it.

Kinds of Books You Won’t Read:

I can’t say there is one specific type I certainly won’t read, but there are certain things in books that will make me not read them, like if I know it is about rape or child/animal abuse, no chance of me reading it.

Longest Book You’ve Read:

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling at 870 pages.

Major book hangover because of:

Again, On the Jellicoe Road because it was that awesome.

Number of Bookcases You Own:

Well, I own 3 tall ones, a skinny one and a short one, but they are all still over flowing and I need more to shelf all the books I still have boxed up.

One Book You Have Read Multiple Times:

Cinder by Marissa Meyer.  This is easily one of my absolute favorite books and the fact that I have reread it really says something since this is something I rarely do.

Preferred Place To Read:

I love to read in the tub with steaming water until it goes cold, but since all I have in my bathroom is stand up shower, I don’t really get to do this anymore.  Now I have this wonderfully squishy reading chair my uncle gave me.

Quote that inspires you/gives you all the feels from a book you’ve read:

My quote isn’t from a book, but it is by an author I like a lot and I find inspiration from.  It’s one of my favorite quotes ever and I even have it posted in one of my sidebars.  I especially love this one since I am an aspiring writer 🙂

  • “Write words you’re willing to burn at the stake for. Write words you’d believe in even if the rest of the world didn’t.” ― Lauren DeStefano

Reading Regret:

The Almost Moon by Alice Sebold.  This was before I had Goodreads, and if I had had it at that point I could have seen that it didn’t even have 3 stars and I probably would have passed on this book, but I didn’t and I read it and wish I never had.  The book had no real point and a lot of stuff that happened in it didn’t either.

Series You Started And Need To Finish(all books are out in series):

The Percy Jackson series.  I just recently finished the 4th book and will be starting the 5th soon.  I love this series and am sad about reading the final one.

Three of your All-Time Favorite Books:

Tuesdays with Morrie (made me cry the hardest), Cinder (I’ve read it more than once), and (SURPRISE) Harry Potter!

Unapologetic Fangirl For:

Stephanie Perkins.  She is the one who got me loving contemporary books!  And Marissa Meyer since she is writing my current favorite series.

Very Excited For This Release More Than All The Others:

Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins May 13th and Cress by Marissa Meyer out Feb 4th.  The Lunar Chronicles is one of my most favorite series.  SEE ABOVE.

Worst Bookish Habit:

I would have to say that would be buying a ton more books even though I already have a ton at home that I haven’t read yet.  No dog earing or highlighting pages here; I never mark my books, but I am constantly adding to my books though I own hundreds already.

X Marks The Spot: Start at the top left of your shelf and pick the 27th book:

Well, can’t tell you this one right now since I am making this post from work, but I do know for a fact this is one of my TBR shelves!

Your latest book purchase:

The Wolves of Mercy Falls Trilogy box set, but it isn’t for me, it is a birthday gift for my reader cousin 🙂

ZZZ-snatcher book (last book that kept you up WAY late):

Ink by Amanda Sun.  I just kept wanting to read this book with the beautiful imagery and Japanese setting.

 

Well, this was a very fun bookish survey!  Hope you are all having a wonderful Monday!

Vyki Signature Trans 2

5 Comments

Filed under Random

5 responses to “A to Z Survey!

  1. I relate so much to so many of these. Mostly Steph Perkins!

  2. Pingback: A to Z Survey | The Small Nerd

  3. I LOVED Anna Dressed in Blood, so I’m sure this one’s a winner!

  4. I feel like I have to read Jellicoe Road. So many people have said so many great things about it and I adore Melina Marchetta. And I agree that Tea is a great blogging beverage 😀

Leave a Reply

