Truth or Dare (1)

Truth or Dare Banner

Truth or Dare is a fun new meme hosted by Jenna over at Jenna Does Books that is a bookish challenge based on the game of the same name.  Chose truth for a discussion type question or prompt, or if you are feeling a bit more adventurous, chose dare!  You can even choose both tasks if you like.  So…Truth or Dare?

For this week’s ToD I picked:

101113-truth

The Dare for the week was a Vlog, and since I have never done one before and don’t like how I look/sound on camera anyway, I chose to play it safe for my first week!  I do have other hobbies (several actually), but I’ll tell about my most serious ones.

Writing is of course my biggest one.  I love to write as much and as often as I can, though working full time and home time makes it difficult to write as much as I would like to.  I am very excited about my NaNoWriMo project this year and am itching to start, but I still have to wait 20 more days before I can begin, otherwise it’s cheating!  I have 80 pages of another manuscript written that I have been working on as well, though it will be on hold while I work on my new one.  I really want to get a fantabulous story written that will attract an agent since one of my dreams is to have published books 🙂

I also love to penpal.  And I mean TRADITIONAL penpal, with pen and paper and stickers and stamps!  I have several and they are from Japan, France, England and a few other places.  I always love getting to know people through real letters since they are more personal than plain emails – I mean, you can’t even see what their handwriting looks like over email!  Plus, isn’t it so much better to get a letter in the mail than the same old bills and junk?

Another biggy – genealogy!  I love working on my family tree and have found out all kinds of stuff while doing it, including the fact that Geoffrey Chaucer is in my tree!!  I can’t begin to tell you how stoked I was about that one.  I have also began to do my pedigree charts digitally in excel along with my handwritten ones.  I found out how to link the page numbers between excel workbooks, so all I have to do is click the page number and it will take me to the one I need without having to find them individually, which is incredibly helpful.  It’s also really fun collecting names and finding as much new stuff as you can, especially when you find people that are well known and have books written about them and such!

And finally, my last biggest hobby is photography.  I love photography so much.  I can’t draw or paint, but I can use a camera.  I have even won a couple local contests.  Too bad it’s so expensive >.< I really want to get a macro lens so bad so I can do some super close up photos.  I also sometimes still use my film camera, the only bad thing is having to be patient and wait for the film to develop.

I have several other smaller hobbies, but these are the ones I do most often and have the biggest projects for.  I wish I had more time to spend doing them though!  How about your hobbies?

Vyki Signature Trans 2

4 Comments

Filed under Truth or Dare, Weekly Memes

4 responses to “Truth or Dare (1)

  1. Ohh I hope you can save up enough for a macro lens! I got one a few years ago and I ADORE it! It opens up a whole new world for photography!

  2. You’re right, we dc! I’ve been wanting a pen pal for FOREVER! And I want to make my own nail polish as well. Once I have the money (technically, I have the extra money, it could just be spent on better things at the moment) to all the stuff to start up, I’m going to open up my own shop.

    Also, I’m doing NaNoWriMo as well! If you’d like to be buddies:
    http://nanowrimo.org/participants/darcus

  3. Awesome! I added you back. And yes, I have a Supernatural obsession! I’m currently on season 8 (and the Eye of The Tiger scene will forever be imprinted in my brain).

Leave a Reply

