Just One Day Read Along Week 4

Just One Day Read Along Banner

Well, this is the final week of questions for the read along!  I’ve had fun reading this with everybody and Jenna over at Jenna Does Books.  Next, Brittany is doing the read along for Just One Year over at The Book Addict’s Guide, and I am so excited to be reading the second part to this story!  If you didn’t get to see how much I loved this book, my review is here.  There was so much that was great for this book!  Now, on to the final questions.

1. Why do you think Allyson was able travel to Paris alone, even without the “protection” of the faux identity, “Lulu”, or Willem? What is the significance of this accomplishment?

I think that she learned a great deal about herself during the year in between Paris trips, and she also learned how to stand up for herself and do what it was she wanted to do and what she felt right to do.  She became more comfortable with herself and decided that she wasn’t going to keep herself hidden.  She started really coming out of her shell and I loved her transformation.

2. Did you ever fear throughout the trip that Allyson would revert to her earlier ways?

No, I can’t say that I did because I really believed in her change and I felt like  could also feel the transformation in her myself.  The author did a fantastic job with the changing journey for Allyson and she seemed more determined to find what she wanted and needed to find.  She really did so many things that the old Allyson never would have.

3. In what ways does Allyson’s second trip to Paris/Europe differ from her first?

So many ways!  She was there on her own, free to move about anyway she wanted to instead of being on a strict group tour, which she obviously didn’t enjoy the first time around.  Plus, she was different, which made the trip different.  She was more social with people and she learned French, so she could speak to others instead of being helpless due to a language barrier.  She actually enjoyed going from place to place and seeing the beauty of the countries, which was different from the first time since she said she didn’t like to travel.  The only time she enjoyed being out there, was when she was pretending to be Lulu and with Willem, but this time, it’s all solo and all really her.

4. Speculation: Who do you think the girl was with Willem? (Don’t spoil this if you have read Just One Year.)

I really haven’t a clue.  I don’t want it to be a girlfriend, but family would be kind of weird considering how familiar they were being.  I’m hoping maybe just a really good friend, but the way she reacted when he came out after the play…seemed a bit familiar for just a friend.

5. Final thoughts: What was going through your head when the door opened at the end of the book?

I got a cold chill and was probably gripping the book a bit tightly, and then…that was it.  I think I squealed a bit, then said “but, but, but,” sighed dramatically, then pouted since I was at the end.  I’m just so glad I didn’t have to wait an entire year before reading the next one.  I was also thinking, please don’t let that girl be there, because I would have been completely heartbroken for Allyson if she had been.  I really wanted him to just wrap her in a huge hug and kiss her.

I really, really loved this book and can now crack open Just One Year and keep my fingers crossed that it goes the way it has played out in my head as I waited!  Loved the book and loved the read along 🙂

Vyki Signature Trans 2

1 Comment

Filed under Random

One response to “Just One Day Read Along Week 4

  1. Yay! I’m so glad you loved it! And yes — I was definitely so happy with Allyson’s transformations! I had a tiny doubt for a moment she would revert back to her old ways, but she had already changed so much! I was proud of her haha 🙂

Leave a Reply

