Truth or Dare (3)

Truth or Dare Banner

 

Truth or Dare is a fun new meme hosted by Jenna over at Jenna Does Books that is a bookish challenge based on the game of the same name.  Chose truth for a discussion type question or prompt, or if you are feeling a bit more adventurous, chose dare!  You can even choose both tasks if you like.  So…Truth or Dare?

For this week’s ToD I picked:

102513-truth

Yes, yes, truth again.  I promise I will be doing dares, but this week, I just had NO time to prepare for a dare since I had a long class with work this week that really wore me out!  So, biggest bookish pet peeve?  I can’t say I have one specific biggest because I am really particular about my books.  Dog-earring and writing in books is a HUGE no-no for me.  I can’t stand it if someone is destructive towards books, it just really makes me hurt.  Another giant one, STICKERS ON COVERS!!!  I HATE them.  I LOATHE them.  I have stack at home that I am in the process of removing because they are not the easy pull away kind.  They are the paper super grip kind that leave behind a gooey mess and paper skins.  So annoying!  I like for my books to be in as perfect shape a possible and those stickers cause such a nuisance.  Also, I REALLY have to trust you to let you borrow one of my books.  I don’t even open my own books all the way and there are too many people out there that crack and crease spines and I just can’t let someone read one of my books that I know is going to damage them or lose them.  So, yeah those are probably my top bookish pet peeves.

Vyki Signature Trans 2

12 Comments

Filed under Truth or Dare, Weekly Memes

12 responses to “Truth or Dare (3)

  1. Wow, your peeves are very different from mine! I try not to spill anything on my books or get them dirty, but I don’t care too much if the spine gets creased. It’s hard to read a book without doing that. I read a lot on Kindle now so it’s less of a problem for me regardless.

  2. I’m glad I’m not the only picky reader. I hate stickers especially; they drive me INSANE. I once spent 3 hours chipping one off piece by piece before I actually opened the book. *grumbles*

  3. Oh, I hate those stupid stickers that don’t come off! I bought some books at a library sale a year and a half ago and I’m STILL trying to get the sticker gunk off!

  4. aaah stickers on covers drive me crazy, I try not to crack my spines but, it happens and I can’t help it when reading it.

  5. The stickers I’m in 100% agreement with! I recently bought the whole Mortal Instruments series, and since they just released the movie, they all had the “Now in theaters!” stickers on EVERY SINGLE ONE. I spent an hour scraping off goo from all five books.

    It was traumatic, to say the least.

    • I am perfecting my sticker removal technique lol. I have found that you can heat up the sticker with a hair dryer and it makes the sticky kind of melty and easier to pull off, then you can take the residue off with goo gone which doesn’t ruin the covers! Hope this helps your removals and cuts your time down 🙂

  6. I don’t mind stickers so much (unless they’re the ugly kind of WALMART $9.35 sort), but I do enjoy peeling them off the covers. It’s like popping bubble mailers for me.

    As for doggy-eared pages and writing in books, I lean towards the opposite. I write in books I study in, but if I plan to trade a book or sell it at some point, then I would avoid it. I don’t need to dog-ear pages so much anymore because I have a nice collection of bookmarks now, but if I had to, I wouldn’t mind too much. As for YA books, though, I don’t see a reason to mark them up!

    That’s a nice list of bookish peeves! Thank you for sharing.

    Here’s my truth or dare.

Leave a Reply

