Cover Crush (62)

Cover Crush Logo Cover Crush is my meme here at On The Shelf where beautiful and eye-catching covers are spotlighted!  Any cover can be showcased whether it be old or new, read or still sitting in your TBR stack.  Please join in, link up and enjoy some beautiful covers!

My Cover:

The Jewel Cover

The Jewel means wealth. The Jewel means beauty. The Jewel means royalty. But for girls like Violet, the Jewel means servitude. Not just any kind of servitude. Violet, born and raised in the Marsh, has been trained as a surrogate for the royalty––because in the Jewel the only thing more important than opulence is offspring.

Purchased at the surrogacy auction by the Duchess of the Lake and greeted with a slap to the face, Violet (now known only as #197) quickly learns of the brutal truths that lie beneath the Jewel’s glittering facade: the cruelty, backstabbing, and hidden violence that have become the royal way of life.

Violet must accept the ugly realities of her existence . . . and try to stay alive. But then a forbidden romance erupts between Violet and a handsome gentleman hired as a companion to the Duchess’s petulant niece. Though his presence makes life in the Jewel a bit brighter, the consequences of their illicit relationship will cost them both more than they bargained for.

Why I’m Crushing:

This cover definitely reminds me of The Selection covers, but I actually like this one more.  I think it is because of the gem that frames it.  The cover is very sparkly and beautiful and the gem reminds me of both a diamond and a crystal rose and I love how you can see her reflected so many times in the facets.  I like the font and the curls, but I kind of wished they had used a different one since even this makes me think of The Selection.  It is still such a lovely, lovely cover!  What do you guys think of this cover?  Feel free to link up in the comments with any Cover Crushes you may have 🙂

Vyki Signature Trans 2

6 Comments

Filed under Cover Crush, Weekly Memes

6 responses to “Cover Crush (62)

  1. bftreviews

    I’m loving this cover! It’s beautiful! Have you read the book yet? Is it any good?

  2. It’s really pretty! I like this one more than The Selection too, it seems to have more feeling behind it.

  3. I disagree. I find that the dresses have nothing to do with anything besides indicate the wealth aspect of the tale. The positions that the girls are in say more about the character and the story itself. For the Selection, it’s more of posing for cameras because it’s a televised event. Here, it feels as though the girl is unhappy and doesn’t want to be a surrogate. Also, The Selection covers ended up being red, white, and blue, which is interesting since the character’s name is America.

    And it seems you and I had the same thought the day of Feb 22, since I posted the same cover for CC. (P.S. the release date is Sept 2, though you probably already know by now.)

Leave a Reply

