Monthly Archives: October 2014

*Review* Kiss of Broken Glass – Madeleine Kuderick

Kiss of Broken Glass Cover Kiss of Broken Glass

Madeleine Kuderick

224 pages

Read 10-16-14

Source: Library

Add it on Goodreads!

 Madeleine Kuderick’s gripping debut is a darkly beautiful and lyrical novel in verse, perfect for fans of Sonya Sones and Laurie Halse Anderson. Kiss of Broken Glass pulses with emotion and lingers long after the last page.

In the next seventy-two hours, Kenna may lose everything—her friends, her freedom, and maybe even herself. One kiss of the blade was all it took to get her sent to the psych ward for seventy-two hours. There she will face her addiction to cutting, though the outcome is far from certain.

When fifteen-year-old Kenna is found cutting herself in the school bathroom, she is sent to a facility for mandatory psychiatric watch. There, Kenna meets other kids like her—her roommate, Donya, who’s there for her fifth time; the birdlike Skylar; and Jag, a boy cute enough to make her forget her problems . . . for a moment.

I have read only two other books written in verse, but I have found I do enjoy the ones  have read and look forward to reading more.

Kiss of Broken Glass deals with a hard topic – cutting – and what could drive a person to do it.  I found Kenna to be very realistic and tortured, even if she didn’t want to admit it to herself.  Through Kenna we learn about the drive and ache of her addiction to self harm and the author does a great job of making us feel that need right along with Kenna.  The book spans only 72 hours, but in that short period, things become very eye opening.  The book was an incredibly fast read, but it was also powerful.

The few characters we meet during the commitment weren’t around very long, but they each had their own special impact on Kenna.  I especially liked Skylar and her honesty.  She was very open about everything and I think that helped Kenna be more honest with herself.  Donia was ok, but she was also someone who wanted to help Kenna keep cutting and didn’t seem like someone much into quitting self harm.  I didn’t get to know Jag too well, but the little bit I did see of him I did like him.

I definitely enjoyed this book and look forward to more work from this author!

Well written, powerful, fast read, really puts you in the main character’s shoes.

4.5 bookmark

Vyki Signature Trans 2

Advertisements

2 Comments

Filed under 4.5 Stars, Contemporary, Fiction, Review, Tough Stuff, Verse, Young Adult

Updates and Such

Hey guys!  Long time no posting, sorry about that.  As I mentioned before in one of my last posts, I started school back, which is very exciting (I’m one of those dorks who love school!) and I’ve had to do some adjusting with being so busy in life, work and now back to school.  All I have been able to read for the past couple of months is Shakespeare since that was my first class and it has been fun and I should finish with a 98!!  My next two classes are going to be Humanities and World Mythology (which I’m super excited about) and I have definitely been enjoying the online classes so far and it works great with my schedule.  I am going to try to start posting reviews again and though I won’t be able to post as much stuff as before I started school back, I still will be doing some!  I’ve also taken on a lot at the house, and by a lot I mean people.  Due to some bad circumstances, I have 4 extra bodies at my house, my mother in law, her mother, my brother in law and his cousin.  So needless to say, it is a bit cramped (we already had 4 bodies to begin with so now it is up to 8)!!  Thanks to those of you who have still been checking my blog and being patient while I got settled into my new routine.  I look forward to discussing more bookish things with you all!

Vyki Signature Trans 2

 

P.S. Are any of you going to be attending YALLFEST?  I will be there for my 3rd straight year and CAN’T WAIT!!!

2 Comments

Filed under Random